The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2016, 09:12am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I don't know that the rules makers had this in mind when they wrote the rule, but it helps me to remember it:

The rule is such that BOTH teams should do what they can to get the ruling right before play continues. Otherwise, what looks like an advantage ("hey -- good news -- we are getting FTs instead of a throw-in") can quickly turn into a disadvantage ("what do you mean we lose the points and the ball!?")
I never have, and never will, buy that line of thinking. NEVER. It is ludicrous logic, IMO. That is penalizing a team b/c the crew and table screwed up. It is not the coaching staffs' responsibility. I could just as easily say that it is advantageous for the defensive team to allow the FTs and then after they inbound the ball notify the table and crew that there should not have been any FTs. The team shooting FTs could just as easily assume that they missed annotating an opponent's foul on their own stat sheet. And what about visiting teams that do not bring a scorer with them (I've seen plenty of HS and JuCo teams who don't travel with any type of bookkeeping personnel). They are trusting that the table and officials are competently doing their jobs.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Nov 22, 2016 at 09:16am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2016, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,176
Feel free to propose different logic /reasons for the rule. As I said, this helps me remember it. Too many try to revert to the "what's fair" provision -- and get the ruling screwed up.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2016, 10:21am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Personally, I don't care what the rule is... I'm going by it. However, isn't part of the error not giving Team A a throw in? And not having done that should be corrected?

Admittedly, I would have messed this up before reading this. I would have cancelled the made free throw and given Team A a throw-in at the spot nearest where the foul occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2016, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Personally, I don't care what the rule is... I'm going by it. However, isn't part of the error not giving Team A a throw in? And not having done that should be corrected?

Admittedly, I would have messed this up before reading this. I would have cancelled the made free throw and given Team A a throw-in at the spot nearest where the foul occurred.
Your errors are a-e. The error here is awarding unmerited FTs. (b) Cancel the FTs and go to POI. Correctable errors are bad. many times somebody is going to get screwed. It makes me communicate better with scorers and periodically check if all are on same page.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2016, 10:42am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
I think I found in the rule book where you would do this, as there's nothing that simply says "cancel the FTs and go to the POI".

2-10-4 says that "the activity during it (the unmerited FT), other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional, and technical fouls, shall be cancelled". And 2-10-5 says that "consumed time and additional activity...shall not be nullified". Therefore, in this case the made FT is cancelled per 2-10-4, and the fact Team B secured the rebound/gained possession is not nullified per 2-10-5.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2016, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I think I found in the rule book where you would do this, as there's nothing that simply says "cancel the FTs and go to the POI".

2-10-4 says that "the activity during it (the unmerited FT), other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional, and technical fouls, shall be cancelled". And 2-10-5 says that "consumed time and additional activity...shall not be nullified". Therefore, in this case the made FT is cancelled per 2-10-4, and the fact Team B secured the rebound/gained possession is not nullified per 2-10-5.
I gave you the condensed version for the OP. 2-10-6 says POI.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2016, 10:38am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Personally, I don't care what the rule is... I'm going by it. However, isn't part of the error not giving Team A a throw in? And not having done that should be corrected?

Admittedly, I would have messed this up before reading this. I would have cancelled the made free throw and given Team A a throw-in at the spot nearest where the foul occurred.
It's why I am very diligent in keeping track of Team Fouls. On a regular basis I am having the table correct the TF count on the scoreboard. Some folks think it is not our job to do so, but this rule is exactly why a good official should.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2016, 11:10am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
It's why I am very diligent in keeping track of Team Fouls. On a regular basis I am having the table correct the TF count on the scoreboard. Some folks think it is not our job to do so, but this rule is exactly why a good official should.
I agree with you for the most part, but tables often screw this up or give us the wrong information. We should ask questions when getting close, but the table people do give us information wrong even when you think "you" are right.

I once had two CE situations in one week (over 15 years ago) and both times we questioned the table about what was on the scoreboard, only to have them tell us we were to do something wrong both times. Actually these situations helped me learn the rules because the table was not giving us the proper information.

This is not like football where we can write down our penalties each time. I guess we could, but that would require a lot from us.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2016, 07:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Personally, I don't care what the rule is... I'm going by it. However, isn't part of the error not giving Team A a throw in? And not having done that should be corrected?

Admittedly, I would have messed this up before reading this. I would have cancelled the made free throw and given Team A a throw-in at the spot nearest where the foul occurred.
Would you have also put time back on the clock that elapsed after the free throws were completed?
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2016, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I never have, and never will, buy that line of thinking. NEVER. It is ludicrous logic, IMO. That is penalizing a team b/c the crew and table screwed up.
You could make the same argument if you give the ball to B. B earned a rebound and has the ball. If you give the ball back to A, you take that away from B.

Either way you go, once the ball is back in play, one team will get something taken away.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2016, 01:29am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
You could make the same argument if you give the ball to B. B earned a rebound and has the ball. If you give the ball back to A, you take that away from B.
What rebound? The free throw that was rebounded was taken away.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2016, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
What rebound? The free throw that was rebounded was taken away.
But, it was rebounded. B earned the ball at that moment. Why should A get it any more than B?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Nov 23, 2016 at 07:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 24, 2016, 05:51pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
But, it was rebounded. B earned the ball at that moment. Why should A get it any more than B?

B committed a foul. If B winds up with the ball and the free throw is disallowed, this means that B was not penalized for the foul.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 24, 2016, 08:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
B committed a foul. If B winds up with the ball and the free throw is disallowed, this means that B was not penalized for the foul.
Seems like A is being penalized for an error by the table or officials.
I doubt ANYONE would complain about A getting a throw-in instead of the unmerited free throws at this point... just seems right!
__________________
"Coach, that was an easy call for me to make"
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 25, 2016, 06:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
B committed a foul. If B winds up with the ball and the free throw is disallowed, this means that B was not penalized for the foul.
That goes back to the point of A being on top of things and not taking a set of FTs they didn't deserve. It is not pretty either way you go and someone will lose out.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Posession arrow? Oz Referee Basketball 5 Tue Dec 30, 2008 01:03am
Foul, T, Posession grunewar Basketball 7 Thu Jan 18, 2007 12:33pm
Posession Arrow fshrake Basketball 2 Thu Nov 16, 2000 08:40am
Alternating Posession Suppref Basketball 7 Fri Jun 23, 2000 11:39am
Posession Dave Birch Basketball 8 Wed Mar 15, 2000 06:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1