The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2016, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 53
FIBA Throw-in spot

I received a question from my sister who coaches in the Philippines. They follow FIBA rules over there.

A1 gets fouled prior to the start of "continuous motion" in the lane for a FG try. The official rules that the foul is not in the act of shooting, but after the whistle was blown, A1 continues the shot and the ball goes in. (Team A is not in the bonus, or per FIBA parlance, Team B is not in the penalty) The ball is put back in play from the sideline (FT extended) instead of the end line.

Per NFHS, I'm pretty sure the throw in spot would be from the end line and it doesn't matter if the ball went in or not since the ball is dead at that point. But the official correctly (?) quoted this rule from the FIBA Rule Book:

17.2.6. Whenever the ball enters the basket, but the field goal or the free throw is not valid, the subsequent throw-in shall be administered at the free-throw line extended.

Was this rule correctly applied? I'm just wondering what the intent of this rule is and what other situations this may apply to.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2016, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 559
Every time the ball goes in and it doesn't count. I. E. Common foul by the defense, whistle goes and offense puts the ball in the basket... Throw-in is at FTE.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2016, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by actuary77 View Post
Was this rule correctly applied? I'm just wondering what the intent of this rule is and what other situations this may apply to.
The intent is to make it as obvious as possible to the table and others that the goal did not count.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2016, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
The intent is to make it as obvious as possible to the table and others that the goal did not count.
Yes that is the logic.

Years ago, my supervisor made that point. I said "FIBA is funny, they want the table officials to stop the game for timeouts after made baskets which is a huge responsibility yet they don't trust them to figure out if a basket counts or not".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2016, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,132
With that rule, you give the player with the ball the opportunity to decide the thrown-in location simply by shooting (and making) or not shooting the ball after the whistle. That seems like something that shouldn't be intended by rule.

I would think that giving the ball back to the offensive team for a throw-in would be about all you need to know that the shot shouldn't count.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2016, 07:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay R View Post
Yes that is the logic.

Years ago, my supervisor made that point. I said "FIBA is funny, they want the table officials to stop the game for timeouts after made baskets which is a huge responsibility yet they don't trust them to figure out if a basket counts or not".
You can tell how long someone has been working FIBA games by whether or not they signal the points scored on every basket..

To be honest I had no idea what the intent of the rule was.. I've only been working FIBA since 09...and even back then it was a 60/40 nfhs /FIBA split... This year I'm probably 30+ games in.. All but 5 of them have been FIBA.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2016, 07:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 208
With FIBA's usual ambiguity on rules, they don't mention at which FTE the ball should be awarded.
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 07:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
With FIBA's usual ambiguity on rules, they don't mention at which FTE the ball should be awarded.
They don't. It is typically the one closest to the infraction.. Or in the case of a (rare) free throw violation, the line opposite the table to prevent a switch being necessary.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 06:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 53
Follow up question

So when does the rule application end?

What if upon being fouled (and the whistle blown), A1 passes to A2 who then dunks the ball. Does the rule still apply and throw in will be at FTE?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 06:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Why Does FIBA 17.2.6 apply

I dont see why in the example you described, after foul is blown why 17.2.6 applies. This is a foul, dead ball, throw-in nearest point scenario not an invalid field goal.

Rule 17.2.6. refers to a FT or FG being "not valid".

17.2.6 Whenever the ball enters the basket, but the field goal or the free throw is not valid, the subsequent throw-in shall be administered at the free-throw line extended.

Examples of invalid Free throws

43.2.3. The free-throw shooter shall:
• Not touch the free-throw line or enter the restricted area until the ball has entered the basket or has touched the ring.
Take a position behind the free-throw line and inside the semi-circle.
• Use any method to shoot a free throw in such a way that the ball enters the basket from above or the ball touches the ring.
• Release the ball within 5 seconds after it is placed at his disposal by the official.
• Not touch the free-throw line or enter the restricted area until the ball has entered the basket or has touched the ring.
• Not fake a free throw.

Examples of invalid Field goals:

16.2.3. If a player deliberately scores a field goal in his team’s basket, it is a violation and the goal does not count.
16.2.4. If a player causes the entire ball to pass through the basket from below, it is a violation.


In these cases Throw-in from FT line extended.

There is no example in official Interpretations to offer a definitive answer.
__________________
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 559
Our national intrepreter said that any time a ball goes in and it doesn't count, the thrown in is FTE.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FIBA Throw in question Jay R Basketball 6 Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:56pm
throw in rules questions (FIBA) ABC Coach Basketball 10 Sun Apr 04, 2010 03:58pm
FIBA - division line throw-in violation JugglingReferee Basketball 17 Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:09am
FIBA throw in situation jallen Basketball 6 Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:49am
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1