![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Am I wrong?
This post has cause a running discussion with a friend of mine where we questioned did placing the ball on the floor create player control or team control? We have been back and forth on this. But, it created another question in my mind on a practice I've done for years. For years I have always placed a ball on the floor in situations not resumption in nature (not following a TO or intermission). For example, I can't get Team A to come get the ball after a normal violation call on Team B, such as traveling. No matter what I did, I couldn't get a player over there. After some point, I placed the ball on the floor and began counting. Is this wrong?
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2) You are right to put the ball on the floor. There's a case in 9.2 (I think) that has this happen |
|
|||
|
Thanks. Used your previous post in my original discussion with him.
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
|
Some people think there needs to be PC to have (or to "begin") TC. While that's *usually* true, and is often stated as a short-cut to get people to understand the concept, it's not always true.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The issue of how to handle fouls occurring during a throwin could have been so much more easily handled with a change to the foul rules than a change to the definition of team control.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A PC foul can happen without PC, so why not just have a definition that allows a TC foul to happen without TC. |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=Camron Rust;992906]Prior to the rule change to have TC on a throwin, that was the case....team control only started (in the old rules) when player control was obtained.
But, the resumption of play procedure has been around for awhile???? So, that wasn't quite true even under the old rule???
__________________
Mulk |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
(EDIT for clarity: UNDER THE OLD RULE)
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Nov 17, 2016 at 11:21am. |
|
|||
|
Disposal ...
9.2.9 SITUATION: Following a violation, the official has properly signaled and
awarded a throw-in to Team A at a designated spot. No Team A player comes to the spot even though the official has allowed ample time for them to respond. The official then places the ball on the floor and begins the five-second count. (a) Both A1 and A2 step out of bounds and A1 picks up the ball; or (b) both A1 and A2 step out of bounds and A1 picks up the ball and hands it to A2. RULING: In (a), A2 must immediately return inbounds. In (b), it is a throw-in violation when A1 hands the ball to A2.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Actually a serious question! Professional wrestling referee? | dave30 | Wrestling | 0 | Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:51am |
| I know that this is a referee forum and all, BUT a scoring question | CMHCoachNRef | Soccer | 5 | Mon Sep 19, 2011 06:32pm |
| Referee information and question Session | SmokeEater | Basketball | 14 | Sat Jan 28, 2006 01:19pm |
| Referee TD Signal question. | JRutledge | Football | 16 | Fri Oct 22, 2004 08:55am |
| Big Day...Referee Question | sm_bbcoach | Football | 9 | Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:25am |