The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 20, 2016, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
If the removal of the word "legally" in rule 4-42-5a, then the casebook play you cite is now incorrect: "Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended..." The COMMENT there seems correct, but not the wording of the RULING.

I do agree that whether the word "legally" appears in 4-42-5a or not, the wording of rule 6-4-2 means that it really doesn't make any difference--illegal contact by the defense won't mean the throwing team loses the AP arrow and illegal contact by the throwing team means they will. Right?
Correct. If the throwin team violates the arrow is changed. If the defense violates the arrow stays and the next throwin is for the defensive violation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Revised Brain Teaser MD Longhorn Football 15 Fri Aug 13, 2010 10:42pm
Revised: First, Osborne; Second, Christensen Carl Childress Baseball 14 Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:42am
NFHS OBS Revised Rule whiskers_ump Softball 4 Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:26pm
revised question on penalty during touchdown timharris Football 8 Fri Aug 13, 2004 09:59am
Revised 2nd situation, check swing 4th out. BJ Moose Baseball 13 Fri Jan 19, 2001 11:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1