The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I think I would remove "returns" from 3 and 4 and say
3. last to touch before the ball goes to BC
4. First to touch after ball goes to BC.

I'm easily confused but the word "returns" implies that the ball started in BC. If I was explaining the OP I would say Team A was in team control in FC. A2 was the last to touch the ball before it went to BC and the first to touch it after it went into the BC.

It's just words but for some reason that "returns" bothered me…thx
Yes, that would be better.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
This is what I've been using:

The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control
when coming from a throw-in); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must
be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after
the ball has been in the backcourt.


Is it universally correct?
That seems to be essentially the same.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 12:52pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpshooter40 View Post
Team A is in possession in A's front court. Team B player tips the ball and it last touches off if team A player and goes into Team A's backcourt where Team A is the first to touch. Is this a violation?
Here is an example of your play:


Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
I had a head coach of 25 years about lose his mind when I called this against his team. I will admit though that this is a rule I was not familiar with when I was playing and coaching.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 01:45pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
I had a head coach of 25 years about lose his mind when I called this against his team. I will admit though that this is a rule I was not familiar with when I was playing and coaching.
Did he actually not know the rule after 25 years? I can't imagine he's good at what he does.

I'd assume he just didn't see his team touch the ball again and questioned your eyes.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
Did he actually not know the rule after 25 years? I can't imagine he's good at what he does.

I'd assume he just didn't see his team touch the ball again and questioned your eyes.
That was the first thing I did was talk to him to make sure we were arguing the same set of facts. I told him I have a tip by the defense then a tip by your guy in the front court, and your guy first to touch in the back court. He said yes, but thought his guy needed to have possession. I explained that I was 100% sure my call was right and he disagreed. Play on. "I've been coaching 25 years and I've never heard of that!!"
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 02:22pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
That was the first thing I did was talk to him to make sure we were arguing the same set of facts. I told him I have a tip by the defense then a tip by your guy in the front court, and your guy first to touch in the back court. He said yes, but thought his guy needed to have possession. I explained that I was 100% sure my call was right and he disagreed. Play on. "I've been coaching 25 years and I've never heard of that!!"
Lovely. It's why I always have a dozen rule books. Coaches need them too.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 03:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
"I've been coaching 25 years and I've never heard of that!!"
Probably one of the most common lies we are told.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 561
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Probably one of the most common lies we are told.
The only question is which part of that line is a lie?
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 05:09pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomersooner View Post
the only question is which part of that line is a lie?
+2
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 06:09pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Worth A Thousand Words ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Here is an example of your play
Nice video. Thanks JRutledge.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2016, 06:15pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
A1, trapped in the frontcourt near the division line throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces on the division line (or otherwise in the backcourt). A2, while entirely in the frontcourt, catches the ball.

That is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the backcourt. It would remain a violation even if the ball bounced again but in the frontocurt before A2 caught it.


Similarly, A1, in the backcourt near the division line, throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in the frontcourt. A2, while in the backcourt, catches the ball.

Again, that is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the frontcourt.
This is what I always have to explain to people.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2016, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 51
[I]Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
A1, trapped in the frontcourt near the division line throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces on the division line (or otherwise in the backcourt). A2, while entirely in the frontcourt, catches the ball.

That is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the backcourt. It would remain a violation even if the ball bounced again but in the frontocurt before A2 caught it.


Similarly, A1, in the backcourt near the division line, throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in the frontcourt. A2, while in the backcourt, catches the ball.

Again, that is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the frontcourt.
This is what I always have to explain to people.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk[/I]




Helpful to think about this in terms of the three point rule (two feet and the ball) for determining front court/back court status. In the first scenario, the ball is in the back court when it hits the division line. So if the ball is first touched by A1 with two feet still in the front court we still have one of the points (the ball) in the back court - and a violation. No different than A1 catching the ball when it is in the front court but tapping one foot down in the back court. Same for the second scenario.

Last edited by RefBob; Wed May 18, 2016 at 12:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2016, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by requintero View Post
[I]Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
A1, trapped in the frontcourt near the division line throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces on the division line (or otherwise in the backcourt). A2, while entirely in the frontcourt, catches the ball.

That is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the backcourt. It would remain a violation even if the ball bounced again but in the frontocurt before A2 caught it.


Similarly, A1, in the backcourt near the division line, throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in the frontcourt. A2, while in the backcourt, catches the ball.

Again, that is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the frontcourt.
This is what I always have to explain to people.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk[/I]




Helpful to think about this in terms of the three point rule (two feet and the ball) for determining front court/back court status. In the first scenario, the ball is in the back court when it hits the division line. So if the ball is first touched by A1 with two feet still in the front court we still have one of the points (the ball) in the back court - and a violation. No different than A1 catching the ball when it is in the front court but tapping one foot down in the back court. Same for the second scenario.
3 points only applies to dribbling the ball. Does not apply to passes etc. When the ball hits the division line it is in the BC. If team A is last to touch before the pass and the first to touch after, it doesn't matter where he is standing. # points only applies to a player dribbling the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2016, 07:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
3 points only applies to dribbling the ball. Does not apply to passes etc. When the ball hits the division line it is in the BC. If team A is last to touch before the pass and the first to touch after, it doesn't matter where he is standing. # points only applies to a player dribbling the ball.
For me the three point analogy is always helpful in determining front court/back status although it really only applies to the dribbler. Clearly to first establish front court status all three points must be in the front court - A1's two feet and the ball. For the ball it must actually touch the floor in the front court (for a dribbler) or be in player control by a player in the front court who has both feet in the front court (receipt of a pass). For a back court violation, a Team A player must be the first to touch "in the back court." A Team A player can only be "in the back court" if any of A1's three points are in the back court.

Some examples:

a. A1 has two feet in the front court, ball bounces in the front court and then is in the air in the back court, A1 then reaches across the center line and taps the ball back into the front court or catches the ball (before it hits the ground in the back court) - No Violation.
b. A1 in the back court passes the ball to A2 at the division line. A2 catches the ball, with one foot in the back court and one in front court. A2 is still in the back court. A2 brings his back court foot to the front court and A2 is now in the front court. A2 swings the same foot back to the back court - Violation. A2 with both feet in the front court dribbles the ball on the division line - Violation.

In any event, always thinking about the three points is something that helps me figure out back court and front court status, especially at the division line.

Please let me know it this way of thinking is going to get me in trouble some time.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over and back (backcourt) on back tap JMUplayer Basketball 27 Sat Jan 16, 2016 05:04am
Back to Back Timeouts SCalScoreKeeper Basketball 4 Tue Jan 18, 2011 01:21am
Back judge - back pedal or turn and run stegenref Football 12 Sun Sep 12, 2010 08:23am
Over the back, ON the back RM article Nevadaref Basketball 32 Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:26pm
Over and Back ZEBRA Basketball 2 Sun Jan 19, 2003 04:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1