[I]Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
A1, trapped in the frontcourt near the division line throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces on the division line (or otherwise in the backcourt). A2, while entirely in the frontcourt, catches the ball.
That is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the backcourt. It would remain a violation even if the ball bounced again but in the frontocurt before A2 caught it.
Similarly, A1, in the backcourt near the division line, throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in the frontcourt. A2, while in the backcourt, catches the ball.
Again, that is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the frontcourt.
This is what I always have to explain to people.
Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk[/I]
Helpful to think about this in terms of the three point rule (two feet and the ball) for determining front court/back court status. In the first scenario, the ball is in the back court when it hits the division line. So if the ball is first touched by A1 with two feet still in the front court we still have one of the points (the ball) in the back court - and a violation. No different than A1 catching the ball when it is in the front court but tapping one foot down in the back court. Same for the second scenario.
Last edited by RefBob; Wed May 18, 2016 at 12:52pm.
|