![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
This is the mechanic used for NCAA-W, NCAA-M and the NBA.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
From the Manual: Signaling Sequence. When a blocking foul occurs because the secondary defender was located in the restricted area, the official has two signaling sequences that can be utilized. Fist in the air, point to the restricted area, signal block (below PlayPics Option 1) OR Fist in the air, signal block, point to the restricted area (Option 2). Both of these sequences include a point - due to location of defender, which is why the blocking foul is being called - and says nothing about actual result of the play - it could be either. Also from the manual: Note: If the foul called on the court is a blocking foul regardless of where the player was positioned, the calling official should not point to the restricted area when signaling the foul. That will alert the partners that a blocking foul is being called without reference to the restricted area. Lastly, the note shows NOT to point to the RA when calling official believes the play to be a block. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Question...did they shoot free throws on this play? I don't remember if they did, but am wondering if the point was not at the RA but was maybe signifying the shooter was "on the floor"??? If they shot free throws, then my wondering is moot...anyone remember if they shot?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Beg to disagree - for a third time
Quote:
If the play is a block, and I don't point that indicates that the block is being called on illegal movement. No one can bring me information on the RA that would change that call. But if I called a block, because I thought it was an RA play and pointed (which is how the Signaling Sequence is worded "occurs because the secondary defender was located in the restricted area"), if someone brought me information that the defender wasn't inside the RA, the play could then be changed. There may be times when the only thing I am calling (which could be wrong...) is that the defender was secondary and in the RA when contact occurred - I don't have to decide if B/C - I just point to the RA and indicate block. And we know that there are some 50/50 plays that could go either way. By your assertion I could not do this as you assume I would have had a PC. Now you or your conference may have adopted the position that pointing = PC, but don't argue that that is what the mechanics manual states.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Now, If I'm certain he's in the arc I might report it that way at table. Not pointing to arc when I call it is important for communication to partners. The arc can be a pain and the mechanic lets us all know what's going on. If I know that when u signal block, it's a block no matter what...forget the arc...im not coming in to tell you anything. It was a block no matter what. If I know that you will only point to RA if call would have been charge but for RA I know whether to change or not. Last edited by BigCat; Wed Mar 30, 2016 at 05:23pm. |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE]
Quote:
Quote:
Why this is important (and logical): There will be plays where calling official mis-applies RA rule (play develops in LDB, one-on-one, etc.) and pointing to RA invites partners to come with additional info to change to PC call. No point, no discussion. In your scenario above, if you point to RA regardless of block/charge decision, then your partner comes and says "Partner, RA doesn't apply in this play because...". What will your reply be?
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The red part in that post says that if it's a block either way, do not point. I have a hard time seeing how that sentence could be any more clear. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It tells you right there not to point at the RA if the play would have been a block regardless of the RA. What more do you need? I'm confounded.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Now, suppose your interpretation of the RA play is wrong - say it was on a fast break, but it was actually 2 on 2 or 3 on 3 and your partner brings you that information since you indicated it was an RA play. Now you would have to do what we do on any other 50/50 play and come up with a call. That could be a block or that could be a charge. Hence it is not necessarily true that if you call an RA play and point to the RA that you would have had a PC. Splitting hairs, but I don't think you leap to stating something as fact that is not actually written in the books. I understand that approach works and holds true 98% of the time, but if that were the rule, then it would have been easy enough to put it in writing just as the block in any circumstance is in writing. QED |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Here's how you resolve your problem. When there is contact decide what it would have been absent the RA. Just like you would have on any other play. If it would have been a block, signal block. If it would have been a charge, signal a restricted area block. Then if you're wrong about the RA, your partner can come in and help you. If you're wrong about the block charge part of it nobody can help you. Put another way, you don't get to defer deciding this part of the play because there's an easy way out, because you might be wrong about the easy way out. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Virginia/UNC block/charge play (Video) | bballref3966 | Basketball | 16 | Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:58pm |
| NC State/Virginia block/PC play (Video) | bballref3966 | Basketball | 6 | Sun Jan 18, 2015 10:40pm |
| Tim Higgins | tmagan | Basketball | 16 | Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:35pm |
| Here is the Tenn/Virginia Play | Big2Cat | Basketball | 69 | Fri Mar 23, 2007 09:40pm |
| Virginia Tech/Virginia | refTN | Basketball | 13 | Fri Mar 10, 2006 08:37am |