
Wed Mar 30, 2016, 02:12pm
|
 |
Keeper of the HAMMER
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeMrRef
I hear what you are saying, but the Men's mechanics manual actually indicates something different:
From the Manual: Signaling Sequence. When a blocking foul occurs because the secondary defender was located in the restricted area, the official has two signaling sequences that can be utilized.
Fist in the air, point to the restricted area, signal block (below PlayPics Option 1) OR Fist in the air, signal block, point to the restricted area (Option 2).
Both of these sequences include a point - due to location of defender, which is why the blocking foul is being called - and says nothing about actual result of the play - it could be either.
Also from the manual: Note: If the foul called on the court is a blocking foul regardless of where the player was positioned, the calling official should not point to the restricted area when signaling the foul. That will alert the partners that a blocking foul is being called without reference to the restricted area.
Lastly, the note shows NOT to point to the RA when calling official believes the play to be a block.
|
Uhm, the rules you quote say exactly what the others have been saying.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Last edited by Adam; Wed Mar 30, 2016 at 02:27pm.
Reason: grammar
|