![]() |
|
|
|||
Establish Initial legal guarding position
I do not believe the secondary defender rule relies upon the point of contact, rather it begins with initial legal guarding position.
The rule states: Art. 7. A secondary defender cannot establish initial legal guarding position in the restricted area for the purposes of drawing a player control foul/charge on a player who is in control of the ball (i.e., dribbling or shooting) or who has released the ball for a pass or try for goal. It does not state that a secondary defender cannot be in the arc at time of contact. We know that after establishing legal guarding position, defenders are allowed to move backwards, even on an airborne player. Rule 4-17.6e. Exception: A secondary defender who has established initial legal guarding position on an airborne shooter/passer may not move laterally or obliquely to maintain legal guarding position. The secondary defender in this position may remain stationary or may move backwards. As to the C making a charge call, IF the play is called an RA play, the RA play trumps the charge call. A.R. 235. As A2 makes a drive to the basket, B1, a secondary defender, establishes his initial guarding position within the restricted area. Contact occurs. One official calls a charge while another official calls a block. RULING: B1 was a secondary defender who illegally established initial guarding position within the restricted area. Consequently, the blocking call against B1 is the correct call. (Rule 10-1.14 and 4-35) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Some agreement some disagreement with your points:
1) Yes the C could have gone to the L with RA information - but do we know he had that information or was just calling the play which initiated on his side... 2) Just because the L points to the RA doesn't necessarily mean the contact would have been PC without the RA in his mind; it may mean that since it was RA contact, it is a block regardless - he doesn't even have to decide... 3) So, RA play trumps reality absent evidence that it was not an RA play - evidence we do not have on the floor. |
|
|||
Quote:
Not true, at least in NCAAW. If it's a block either way, then signal the block and DO NOT point to the RA. If you point to the RA, you are saying that it would have been PC, except for the RA. That way, if someone comes to you with information, the call WILL bee changed. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
This is the mechanic used for NCAA-W, NCAA-M and the NBA.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
From the Manual: Signaling Sequence. When a blocking foul occurs because the secondary defender was located in the restricted area, the official has two signaling sequences that can be utilized. Fist in the air, point to the restricted area, signal block (below PlayPics Option 1) OR Fist in the air, signal block, point to the restricted area (Option 2). Both of these sequences include a point - due to location of defender, which is why the blocking foul is being called - and says nothing about actual result of the play - it could be either. Also from the manual: Note: If the foul called on the court is a blocking foul regardless of where the player was positioned, the calling official should not point to the restricted area when signaling the foul. That will alert the partners that a blocking foul is being called without reference to the restricted area. Lastly, the note shows NOT to point to the RA when calling official believes the play to be a block. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
It tells you right there not to point at the RA if the play would have been a block regardless of the RA. What more do you need? I'm confounded.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Now, suppose your interpretation of the RA play is wrong - say it was on a fast break, but it was actually 2 on 2 or 3 on 3 and your partner brings you that information since you indicated it was an RA play. Now you would have to do what we do on any other 50/50 play and come up with a call. That could be a block or that could be a charge. Hence it is not necessarily true that if you call an RA play and point to the RA that you would have had a PC. Splitting hairs, but I don't think you leap to stating something as fact that is not actually written in the books. I understand that approach works and holds true 98% of the time, but if that were the rule, then it would have been easy enough to put it in writing just as the block in any circumstance is in writing. QED |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Virginia/UNC block/charge play (Video) | bballref3966 | Basketball | 16 | Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:58pm |
NC State/Virginia block/PC play (Video) | bballref3966 | Basketball | 6 | Sun Jan 18, 2015 10:40pm |
Tim Higgins | tmagan | Basketball | 16 | Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:35pm |
Here is the Tenn/Virginia Play | Big2Cat | Basketball | 69 | Fri Mar 23, 2007 09:40pm |
Virginia Tech/Virginia | refTN | Basketball | 13 | Fri Mar 10, 2006 08:37am |