The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2016, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
Player control.

Yes, even John Higgins misses some calls. Doesn't mean we are any better than him by sitting here talking about how "badly" he missed it.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2016, 11:06pm
Ktr Ktr is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 4
Primary defender

There are many things to discuss on this play.

(1) at the point of contact Higgins is behind #51 unable to get a proper view. Based on his point to the RA -had to be a guess based on where the defender ended up.
(2) the c has a whistle and foul while starting to walk the other way before we lose him in camera view. Did he ever signal? Very close to a blarge.
(3) this should not be discussed as an ra play as there is only the primary defender involved.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2016, 11:23pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ktr View Post
There are many things to discuss on this play.

(1) at the point of contact Higgins is behind #51 unable to get a proper view. Based on his point to the RA -had to be a guess based on where the defender ended up.
(2) the c has a whistle and foul while starting to walk the other way before we lose him in camera view. Did he ever signal? Very close to a blarge.
(3) this should not be discussed as an ra play as there is only the primary defender involved.
2 since C had a whistle, he had an opportunity to pick up location of the defender and can provide that information to Higgins. The call can easily be changed, because by pointing to the RA, Higgins is indicating he would have had a pc foul, but he thought the defender was in the RA.

3 this is an RA play because it is an outnumbered, 2 on 1 break. Under those conditions, all defenders are considered secondary defenders.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2016, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ktr View Post
(3) this should not be discussed as an ra play as there is only the primary defender involved.
Not correct. This is a 3-on-2 fastbreak situation which means all defenders are secondary.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 29, 2016, 12:29am
Ktr Ktr is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballref3966 View Post
Not correct. This is a 3-on-2 fastbreak situation which means all defenders are secondary.
Yes agreed fast break- however I believe they are all "initially" secondary defenders. Once he established outside the ra he became legal. So in my view no longer an ra play. So on video I believe it no longer becomes ra----but obviously Higgins pointed down so he felt it must have been established inside thus making it an ra play.

Too bad the c didn't offer additional info.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 29, 2016, 12:36am
Barely $.02 cents worth
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Left Coast
Posts: 51
To me, what makes the call wrong is that he used the RA when it clearly wasn't in play, at least by the clip. . .

If the player was airborne and then Higgins used the RA because he came from the RA and invaded the offensive player's airspace, still a tough sell, but in that case, he could've just called a common blocking foul. . .

To another poster's point here, it just seemed that Higgins position-adjusted late and didn't see the entirety of the play -- which is something we've all done and will do. . .
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 30, 2016, 06:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 199
I think that the biggest lesson here is, since there was a C and he also had a whistle, and Higgins couldn't have been sure of what he thought he saw, since he was so wrong, is when you are not sure and there is a partner with a whistle, let him take it.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 30, 2016, 09:49am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed View Post
I think that the biggest lesson here is, since there was a C and he also had a whistle, and Higgins couldn't have been sure of what he thought he saw, since he was so wrong, is when you are not sure and there is a partner with a whistle, let him take it.
You've never been sure of something that ended up being wrong? I have.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 30, 2016, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philly Area
Posts: 52
Establish Initial legal guarding position

I do not believe the secondary defender rule relies upon the point of contact, rather it begins with initial legal guarding position.

The rule states:
Art. 7. A secondary defender cannot establish initial legal guarding position
in the restricted area for the purposes of drawing a player control foul/charge
on a player who is in control of the ball (i.e., dribbling or shooting) or who
has released the ball for a pass or try for goal.

It does not state that a secondary defender cannot be in the arc at time of contact. We know that after establishing legal guarding position, defenders are allowed to move backwards, even on an airborne player.
Rule 4-17.6e. Exception: A secondary defender who has established initial legal guarding position on an airborne shooter/passer may not move laterally or obliquely to maintain legal guarding position. The secondary defender in this position may remain stationary or may move backwards.

As to the C making a charge call, IF the play is called an RA play, the RA play trumps the charge call.

A.R. 235. As A2 makes a drive to the basket, B1, a secondary defender,
establishes his initial guarding position within the restricted area. Contact
occurs. One official calls a charge while another official calls a block.
RULING: B1 was a secondary defender who illegally established
initial guarding position within the restricted area. Consequently, the
blocking call against B1 is the correct call.
(Rule 10-1.14 and 4-35)
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 30, 2016, 10:11am
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeMrRef View Post
I do not believe the secondary defender rule relies upon the point of contact, rather it begins with initial legal guarding position.

The rule states:
Art. 7. A secondary defender cannot establish initial legal guarding position
in the restricted area for the purposes of drawing a player control foul/charge
on a player who is in control of the ball (i.e., dribbling or shooting) or who
has released the ball for a pass or try for goal.

It does not state that a secondary defender cannot be in the arc at time of contact. We know that after establishing legal guarding position, defenders are allowed to move backwards, even on an airborne player.
Rule 4-17.6e. Exception: A secondary defender who has established initial legal guarding position on an airborne shooter/passer may not move laterally or obliquely to maintain legal guarding position. The secondary defender in this position may remain stationary or may move backwards.

As to the C making a charge call, IF the play is called an RA play, the RA play trumps the charge call.

A.R. 235. As A2 makes a drive to the basket, B1, a secondary defender,
establishes his initial guarding position within the restricted area. Contact
occurs. One official calls a charge while another official calls a block.
RULING: B1 was a secondary defender who illegally established
initial guarding position within the restricted area. Consequently, the
blocking call against B1 is the correct call.
(Rule 10-1.14 and 4-35)
The AR you cite is not what happened in the play we are discussing. In the play we are discussing, the C could have gone to the L and told him the player did not establish position in the RA. By pointing to the RA, the L was stating the contact would of been a PC if not for the defense being in the RA. Since this was wrong, the player was not in the RA, and the C presented definite knowledge, they would have correctly changed the call to a PC. The RA only "trumps" the call, when the defender established in the RA, not when he hasn't.
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 30, 2016, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philly Area
Posts: 52
Some agreement some disagreement with your points:
1) Yes the C could have gone to the L with RA information - but do we know he had that information or was just calling the play which initiated on his side...
2) Just because the L points to the RA doesn't necessarily mean the contact would have been PC without the RA in his mind; it may mean that since it was RA contact, it is a block regardless - he doesn't even have to decide...
3) So, RA play trumps reality absent evidence that it was not an RA play - evidence we do not have on the floor.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virginia/UNC block/charge play (Video) bballref3966 Basketball 16 Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:58pm
NC State/Virginia block/PC play (Video) bballref3966 Basketball 6 Sun Jan 18, 2015 10:40pm
Tim Higgins tmagan Basketball 16 Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:35pm
Here is the Tenn/Virginia Play Big2Cat Basketball 69 Fri Mar 23, 2007 09:40pm
Virginia Tech/Virginia refTN Basketball 13 Fri Mar 10, 2006 08:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1