![]() |
|
|
|||
Need case citation- back court violation
Can anybody provide a case citation for the following scenario (or something similar)? I seem to remember one but can't find it...
A1, in his front court attempts to pass ball to A2. B1, who is in A's front court, tips ball, and the ball is caught in the air by A3, standing in back court. Ruling: Back court violation.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 Last edited by Bad Zebra; Wed Mar 23, 2016 at 07:59am. |
|
|||
Search the interps above. I think you've been around for the multiple conversations we had on this exact subject.
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Not having much luck finding it quickly...(as I'm not in a place where I'm really supposed to be doing this at the moment) Hoping that an esteemed member might remember this specific scenario from recent past.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 |
|
|||
I believe 9.9.1 or .2 covers this. I think 9.9.1 is more applicable. The ball must gain backcourt status first for the player with TC to be the first to touch in this case.
Stupid and overly complicated in my opinion. They should just simplify the bc statute.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
This isn't exact but I think it applies here...does anyone have anything better?
2007-2008 Rules Interpretation: SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 |
|
|||
9.9.1 covers this. The ball must first get backcourt status for it to NOT be a violation. The ball still has front court status when A2 touches the ball. Therefore it is a violation since A2 caused the ball to gain backcourt status.
Like I said earlier overly complicated.
__________________
in OS I trust |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Back Court violation? | egj13 | Basketball | 10 | Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:56am |
?? back court violation | bbcowboy | Basketball | 15 | Tue Dec 14, 2010 03:54pm |
Back court violation? | Hardwood | Basketball | 13 | Mon Jan 22, 2007 06:12pm |
Back court violation | stmaryrams | Basketball | 2 | Mon Feb 20, 2006 01:38am |
Back court violation | edge62 | Basketball | 12 | Wed Feb 23, 2005 09:57am |