![]() |
|
|||
Need case citation- back court violation
Can anybody provide a case citation for the following scenario (or something similar)? I seem to remember one but can't find it...
A1, in his front court attempts to pass ball to A2. B1, who is in A's front court, tips ball, and the ball is caught in the air by A3, standing in back court. Ruling: Back court violation.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 Last edited by Bad Zebra; Wed Mar 23, 2016 at 07:59am. |
|
|||
Search the interps above. I think you've been around for the multiple conversations we had on this exact subject.
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Not having much luck finding it quickly...(as I'm not in a place where I'm really supposed to be doing this at the moment) Hoping that an esteemed member might remember this specific scenario from recent past.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 |
|
|||
I believe 9.9.1 or .2 covers this. I think 9.9.1 is more applicable. The ball must gain backcourt status first for the player with TC to be the first to touch in this case.
Stupid and overly complicated in my opinion. They should just simplify the bc statute.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
This isn't exact but I think it applies here...does anyone have anything better?
2007-2008 Rules Interpretation: SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 |
|
|||
9.9.1 covers this. The ball must first get backcourt status for it to NOT be a violation. The ball still has front court status when A2 touches the ball. Therefore it is a violation since A2 caused the ball to gain backcourt status.
Like I said earlier overly complicated.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
After a lengthy discussion, most of us agreed that this interpretation is bogus.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove Last edited by just another ref; Wed Mar 23, 2016 at 09:12pm. |
|
|||
It's the source of a disagreement among our entire association. The general concensus is A)"That can't be right" B) "That's crazy, I never called it that way" and C) "How would you explain that to a coach"?
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999 |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
||||
Quote:
In the OP, the ball gains BC status when A3 catches it. The last to touch before that was B1. By rule, it's not a violation. By very week interpretation, it is. Based on the rule, would you call the following a violation? A1 dribbling with two feet in the BC and the ball bouncing in the FC. B1, standing in the FC, tips it behind A1 where A2 catches it in stride, in the BC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the first stitch TC and PC were established in the frontcourt. By rule the team with control CANNOT be the one to cause the ball to gain BC status. 9.9.1 and 9.9.2 support this. 9.9.2 specifies TC and PC. Like I said, I'm unlikely to call this as no one else does, and it is complicating the rule a bit. I would also apply 9.9.1 Sit C in the OP as well for my reasoning. But there is enough rule support to call a BC violation in the OP. I have said already that I'm not likely to make that call. So in your stitch I would consider the ball
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
||||
Quote:
1. Must have established TC and FC status. 2. Team in control must be last to touch the ball BEFORE it gains BC status. 3. Team in control must be first to touch the ball AFTER it gains BC status. In the OP, #2 is missing because B2 touched it before it went into the BC. My play looks a lot different, but there is zero rules basis for differentiating between them.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Back Court violation? | egj13 | Basketball | 10 | Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:56am |
?? back court violation | bbcowboy | Basketball | 15 | Tue Dec 14, 2010 03:54pm |
Back court violation? | Hardwood | Basketball | 13 | Mon Jan 22, 2007 06:12pm |
Back court violation | stmaryrams | Basketball | 2 | Mon Feb 20, 2006 01:38am |
Back court violation | edge62 | Basketball | 12 | Wed Feb 23, 2005 09:57am |