The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 23, 2016, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
No free throws in any situation. In b and d you go AP for a missed shot or end line throwing,running, for a made basket.

A and c team A ball, I'd the basket was good it is now cancelled.
This is the only correct response so far. I'm surprised that people are so confused as to how to administer a simultaneous foul. The rule is simply--no FTs and go to POI.
In a & c the ball became dead while in A1's hands so Team A is awarded a throw-in nearest that location. In b & d the try in flight causes the ball to remain live until the try ends, so the POI is determined by the result of the try. If successful, Team B is awarded an end line throw-in. If unsuccessful, the AP arrow is used.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 23, 2016, 11:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This is the only correct response so far. I'm surprised that people are so confused as to how to administer a simultaneous foul. The rule is simple--no FTs and go to POI.

Nevada is correct. We had a similar conversation earlier this year with the same head-scratching answers from many officials. Kind of disappointing, frankly.

This is why when crews get together in situations like this we pretend like we know which foul or whistle came first. It's because we're not ready to administer the rule correctly. So we create some fiction to simplify the ruling. Not good form.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: FL
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I'm surprised that people are so confused as to how to administer a simultaneous foul.
The confusing part (for me) was that one of the fouls was in the act of shooting. It's unnatural for a shooter to be fouled but not receive free throws, thus, the confusion.

Thanks to SNIPERBBB and you for clarifying for me.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by griblets View Post
The confusing part (for me) was that one of the fouls was in the act of shooting. It's unnatural for a shooter to be fouled but not receive free throws, thus, the confusion.

Thanks to SNIPERBBB and you for clarifying for me.
There are a couple of case plays that deal with this (or similar). they are separated by a couple of pages so it's hard to compare them directly, but it's interesting to see the differences.

I'll try to find them tonight or tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This is the only correct response so far. I'm surprised that people are so confused as to how to administer a simultaneous foul. The rule is simply--no FTs and go to POI.
In a & c the ball became dead while in A1's hands so Team A is awarded a throw-in nearest that location. In b & d the try in flight causes the ball to remain live until the try ends, so the POI is determined by the result of the try. If successful, Team B is awarded an end line throw-in. If unsuccessful, the AP arrow is used.
This sounds more or less the same way your would administer a blarge call -- something that many officials around my parts pregame

Ball released on shot--AP if missed or count basket and B ball anywhere on endline if made
Ball not released (or released on a pass) -- Ball dead imediately. A in Team control at time of fouls so it remains A's ball for throwin.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 24, 2016, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
This sounds more or less the same way your would administer a blarge call -- something that many officials around my parts pregame

Ball released on shot--AP if missed or count basket and B ball anywhere on endline if made
Ball not released (or released on a pass) -- Ball dead imediately. A in Team control at time of fouls so it remains A's ball for throwin.
That's because simultaneous and double fouls are covered by the same rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simultaneous foul WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 6 Tue Jan 14, 2014 07:51pm
Simultaneous Foul... or not?? shavano Basketball 33 Mon Dec 16, 2013 01:56pm
Simultaneous foul Refsmitty Basketball 12 Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:47am
Simultaneous Foul at end of Qtr. nukewhistle Basketball 4 Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:24am
Simultaneous Foul rainmaker Basketball 11 Thu Jul 01, 2004 02:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1