The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Jan 30, 2016, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member

Resumption of Play Procedure

Rookie here, who is beginning to get a handle on the basics. Time to tackle the resumption of play procedure. I have read the NFHS rule many times.

Team A calls time out before their backcourt throw-in after an OOB call. I am administering the throw-in, and as the 2nd horn sounds, Team B is on the court, ready to play. Team A remains in their huddle.

I assume I can place the ball on the floor and start the 5-second count, "x" seconds after the final horn.

The rule seems to indicate that x=0. But I have a feeling that properly managing the game will allow for x to be greater than 0.

What guidelines/judgement can I use to determine "x". (sorry, I'm an engineer!)
Old Sat Jan 30, 2016, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member

As a physics teacher, I like it! I will give them pretty good leeway on the first one, but thats assuming they are getting ready to break. But even if they are about to break the huddle, I'll blow it and put it on the ground, and they seem to get the hint that they will be punctual coming out the next time. As far as a numerical answer to your question, I don't really have one, for me if they break within about 3 seconds of the second horn, I'm usually inclined to just tell them to hustle up and let's go.

Probably depends on your area, this isn't something that's typically a problem here
Old Sat Jan 30, 2016, 07:53pm
Official Forum Member

For your benefit I left out the "t squared" term! Of course in my situation the offending team was at the far end of the court from me. . .so I assume my partner should be telling them to hustle?
Old Sat Jan 30, 2016, 08:58pm
High Five Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post