The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2015, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Resumption of Play Procedure

High school. Team A has two free throws. Prior to the first they call time out. When play is to resume Team A stays with their coach. After the 10 second count a violation is called. Team A fails to come out for the second free throw and a technical foul is called. My question is does Team A still get the second free throw?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2015, 01:52pm
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 669
Without looking at a book, I'll throw out a wild guess.

Upon not coming out for 2nd throw, have another 10 sec violation and then a T for delay. B shoots 2, ball at division line.


I wish I had a cool signature
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2015, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
High school. Team A has two free throws. Prior to the first they call time out. When play is to resume Team A stays with their coach. After the 10 second count a violation is called. Team A fails to come out for the second free throw and a technical foul is called. My question is does Team A still get the second free throw?
Please tell me this is for theoretical study and that you didn't actually observe this in a game?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2015, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
Without looking at a book, I'll throw out a wild guess.

Upon not coming out for 2nd throw, have another 10 sec violation and then a T for delay. B shoots 2, ball at division line.


I wish I had a cool signature
Well here it is for you....


Rule: 8-1-2



ART. 2

Following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play procedure may be used to prevent delay. The administering official will sound the whistle to indicate play will resume. The ball shall be placed at the disposal of the thrower or placed on the floor at the free-throw line and the count shall begin. Either or both teams may be charged with a violation. Following a violation by one or both teams, if the offending team(s) continues to delay, a team technical foul shall be ruled.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2015, 02:56pm
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 669
So I finally got one right?

I'll be danged, it's about time.


I wish I had a cool signature
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2015, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
A violation has already been called for the first free throw. Do you start a new 10 second count and call the T when you reach 10 or is the Team T called when the ball is placed at the disposal of the shooter?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2015, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
So I finally got one right?

I'll be danged, it's about time.
Yeah, don't get too excited. Even a clock with a dead battery is right twice a day.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2015, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
So I finally got one right?

I'll be danged, it's about time.


I wish I had a cool signature
Its only 1 delay then T. I believe you called for a second count then T.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2015, 03:35pm
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Its only 1 delay then T. I believe you called for a second count then T.

Son of a.......

Can I get a half point for the effort?

Has anyone ever had something like this? And if so, why did the team not come out?


I wish I had a cool signature
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2015, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAREF View Post
Well here it is for you....


Rule: 8-1-2



ART. 2

Following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play procedure may be used to prevent delay. The administering official will sound the whistle to indicate play will resume. The ball shall be placed at the disposal of the thrower or placed on the floor at the free-throw line and the count shall begin. Either or both teams may be charged with a violation. Following a violation by one or both teams, if the offending team(s) continues to delay, a team technical foul shall be ruled.
So I'm not sure we ever actually answered the original question, do they get to shoot the 2nd throw? The case play indicates that if the team "Continues to delay..." It does not say "if they violate again..." I believe that the delay is them not coming out of the huddle, so if I were trying to literally translate the rule, then I would say they would still get to shoot the 2nd shot with lanes cleared, then we go to the other end and shoot 2, then ball out at mid court. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2015, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
So I'm not sure we ever actually answered the original question, do they get to shoot the 2nd throw? The case play indicates that if the team "Continues to delay..." It does not say "if they violate again..." I believe that the delay is them not coming out of the huddle, so if I were trying to literally translate the rule, then I would say they would still get to shoot the 2nd shot with lanes cleared, then we go to the other end and shoot 2, then ball out at mid court. Thoughts?
Think about it. Why are you calling the T and what is the penalty for a T?
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2015, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mregor View Post
Think about it. Why are you calling the T and what is the penalty for a T?
Or, can you "delay" until (before) you "violate"?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resumption of play procedure. Sharpshooternes Basketball 28 Fri Nov 30, 2012 07:53pm
Resumption of Play BLS Basketball 7 Mon Nov 28, 2011 02:59pm
resumption of play procedure constable Basketball 4 Thu Oct 28, 2010 08:38pm
Resumption of Play Procedure johnnyrao Basketball 10 Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:51am
Resumption of Play Procedure missinglink Basketball 3 Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1