The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2016, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole4088 View Post
This bring me to this question... Say Team A is throwing AP throw in. Team B goes to intercept but bobbles it and Team A player plows him over in a common foul way. Does Team A keep the arrow? I'm assuming so since no possession was established.
If you've got a rulebook handy, look up how a throw in legally ends.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2016, 07:10am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,172
Devils' Advocate.

PLAY: Held ball. Team A has the AP Arrow. A1 releases the ball on the throw-in such that it crosses the boundary line and the first contact is a kicking violation by A2.

RULING: Team B is awarded a throw-in because of A2 kicking violation.


The questions of the day is: Is the AP Arrow reversed? And why?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2016, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
From the NFHS Case Book:
4.42.5 SITUATION:

Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1's throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2.

RULING: As a result of B2's kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in.

COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A. (6-4-5)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question... Do we go to the arrow? Bchill24 Basketball 5 Mon Nov 12, 2007 04:41pm
Arrow Question Grail Basketball 11 Tue Jul 11, 2006 05:52pm
ADD KICKBALL TO THE BOARD PLEASE chuck chopper General / Off-Topic 4 Wed Oct 26, 2005 07:33pm
Kickball Question BBallinRick Basketball 8 Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:53am
ap arrow question Dibbs Basketball 12 Thu Jan 03, 2002 09:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1