![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
As an observer of basketball, I would say yes ... until the official blows the whistle, that was all he (#24) did was dribble the ball -- all 3 dribbles were in the backcourt until the official blew the whistle.
But what an observer sees isn't always how the rule is applied which is why I ask. I guess it is a question can you immediately become a dribbler on first touch of the ball. I'm not aware of a case/rule that speaks to this one way or another although there may be one. Last edited by HokiePaul; Wed Jan 20, 2016 at 11:43am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Yes you can be a dribbler on first touch of the ball but not always. |
|
|||
The three points rule only applies on a dribbler going from back to front court. It does not apply in this situation.
In this case his first touch is in the front court (feet in the front court, ball in the air), his next is in the back court. I'm of the opinion that even if team control was not established with the red team player saving the ball (I believe it was), team control and player control was established when the first touch occurred as that was the start of his dribble.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt violation? | gfortner16 | Basketball | 17 | Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:26pm |
Backcourt violation? | zac | Basketball | 5 | Sat Oct 24, 2009 09:47pm |
Backcourt violation | bronco | Basketball | 10 | Mon Nov 06, 2006 07:15pm |
Backcourt Violation? | Sleeper | Basketball | 10 | Mon Dec 09, 2002 04:06pm |
Backcourt violation??? | jshock | Basketball | 10 | Wed Nov 27, 2002 01:31pm |