The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt Violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100717-backcourt-violation.html)

chymechowder Tue Jan 19, 2016 01:36pm

Backcourt Violation?
 
From OU/Iowa St last night

https://vimeo.com/152235807

Not sure if the college rule is the same as highschool? If so, looks like the C missed this one.

(Bilas can be annoying, but if this was in fact a miss, have to give him credit for saying right away that OU never possessed the ball in the frontcourt.)

Also just wondering mechanic: is this the C's call all the way? It looks like the L is holding the division line, perhaps to make the call too.

EDIT: YOU CAN SKIP TO 1:00 IN THE VIDEO to see the slo-mo replay.

Adam Tue Jan 19, 2016 01:41pm

Looks to me like #24 actually gets possession via the start of his dribble while standing in the FC, then proceeds to dribble into the BC.

Violation.

chymechowder Tue Jan 19, 2016 01:43pm

Does the ball not need to have FC status?

Adam Tue Jan 19, 2016 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chymechowder (Post 977166)
Does the ball not need to have FC status?

the ball gets FC status as soon as it touches the player with FC status (#24).

And I missed the initial save, which actually was what generated TC here.

Looks to me like OU gained control when he grabbed the ball and threw it off of the ISU player. OU needs only to establish FC location for the ball, which happens when #24 touches it without FC location. Once he goes into the BC it's a violation.

Jesse James Tue Jan 19, 2016 01:57pm

I ran this back last night, because I thought it was missed, but it was a great call--possession occurred in the backcourt, then touch with frontcourt status occurred, then was first to touch after ball regained backcourt status.

Welpe Tue Jan 19, 2016 02:12pm

Saw a grainier video of this earlier and though it was an excellent call. Seeing this one with the clearer slow motion view; I know the C nailed it.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 19, 2016 02:12pm

TH needs to repost his BC quiz.

chymechowder Tue Jan 19, 2016 02:19pm

OK so is it the same for high school?

I guess what's tripping me up is I'd thought NFHS you need all three things (ball and both feet) in the FC before you have FC status.

Thanks!

Raymond Tue Jan 19, 2016 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chymechowder (Post 977173)
OK so is it the same for high school?

I guess what's tripping me up is I'd thought NFHS you need all three things (ball and both feet) in the FC before you have FC status.

Thanks!

Was he ever dribbling in the backcourt?

JRutledge Tue Jan 19, 2016 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chymechowder (Post 977173)
OK so is it the same for high school?

I guess what's tripping me up is I'd thought NFHS you need all three things (ball and both feet) in the FC before you have FC status.

Thanks!

Yes, BC rules are exactly the same as far as I can tell all both genders in the NCAA an the NF Rules.

Three points or things applies to a dribble from the BC to the FC to gain FC status. The ball gains FC status by touching something in the FC like a player, floor or object that is considered in the FC.

The ball is touched by a player that is completely in the FC (it is not a plane) and that is why his dribble to the BC makes this a violation.

Peace

bob jenkins Tue Jan 19, 2016 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chymechowder (Post 977173)
OK so is it the same for high school?

I guess what's tripping me up is I'd thought NFHS you need all three things (ball and both feet) in the FC before you have FC status.

Thanks!

Yes it's the same rule. Read the "3-points" rule very closely -- does it always apply? ;)

RefRich Tue Jan 19, 2016 04:36pm

Backcourt Violation
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 977167)

And I missed the initial save, which actually was what generated TC here.

How does the player saving the ball from going out of bounds create TC here? He shows no control over the ball, he is just the first to touch it.

so cal lurker Tue Jan 19, 2016 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefRich (Post 977206)
How does the player saving the ball from going out of bounds create TC here? He shows no control over the ball, he is just the first to touch it.

He grabs it and throws it -- how is that NOT control?

Adam Tue Jan 19, 2016 06:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefRich (Post 977206)
How does the player saving the ball from going out of bounds create TC here? He shows no control over the ball, he is just the first to touch it.

It looks to me like he grabs it and throws it back. He doesn't need to hold it for any specified period of time to establish team control. Had he batted the ball, I'd be discussing why I think #24 actually did establish PC (and thus TC) when he started his dribble with two feet in the FC.

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 977208)
He grabs it and throws it -- how is that NOT control?

Exactly.

zm1283 Tue Jan 19, 2016 09:30pm

Put my vote down in the violation column.

Tom Eades is a great official. Got to watch him from the front row behind the table at a game a few years ago. He's one of the best.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1