The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 19, 2016, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefRich View Post
How does the player saving the ball from going out of bounds create TC here? He shows no control over the ball, he is just the first to touch it.
It's judgment, to be sure. And again we're on the "would you have granted TO?" question (or in NCAA, would you reset the shot clock?)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 19, 2016, 11:38pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefRich View Post
How does the player saving the ball from going out of bounds create TC here? He shows no control over the ball, he is just the first to touch it.
Throw=TC/PC
Bat= no control
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
He grabs it and throws it -- how is that NOT control?
I was watching on a smaller screen and it did not look like he caught it. watched it on my big screen. Thanks.
__________________
"He who says he can and he who says he can't are both usually correct." - Confucius
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Looks like he clearly caught the ball and threw it off of white to save it. But the second player in red who touches the ball seems to be the start of a dribble. Would the 3 points rule (two feet and the ball required for a dribbler to obtain front court status) not apply? If the touch is a dribble, then the ball retains backcourt status, no? Is college rule different than NFHS?

If the 3 points rule doesn't apply here than it was a great call by the official.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 09:16am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
Looks like he clearly caught the ball and threw it off of white to save it. But the second player in red who touches the ball seems to be the start of a dribble. Would the 3 points rule (two feet and the ball required for a dribbler to obtain front court status) not apply? If the touch is a dribble, then the ball retains backcourt status, no? Is college rule different than NFHS?

If the 3 points rule doesn't apply here than it was a great call by the official.
I ask again:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Was he ever dribbling in the backcourt?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I ask again:
As an observer of basketball, I would say yes ... until the official blows the whistle, that was all he (#24) did was dribble the ball -- all 3 dribbles were in the backcourt until the official blew the whistle.

But what an observer sees isn't always how the rule is applied which is why I ask. I guess it is a question can you immediately become a dribbler on first touch of the ball. I'm not aware of a case/rule that speaks to this one way or another although there may be one.

Last edited by HokiePaul; Wed Jan 20, 2016 at 11:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 11:55am
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
As an observer of basketball, I would say yes ... until the official blows the whistle, that was all he (#24) did was dribble the ball -- all 3 dribbles were in the backcourt until the official blew the whistle.

But what an observer sees isn't always how the rule is applied which is why I ask. I guess it is a question can you immediately become a dribbler on first touch of the ball. I'm not aware of a case/rule that speaks to this one way or another although there may be one.
A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump ball, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions.

Yes you can be a dribbler on first touch of the ball but not always.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 12:39pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
The three points rule only applies on a dribbler going from back to front court. It does not apply in this situation.

In this case his first touch is in the front court (feet in the front court, ball in the air), his next is in the back court. I'm of the opinion that even if team control was not established with the red team player saving the ball (I believe it was), team control and player control was established when the first touch occurred as that was the start of his dribble.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 07:26pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
As an observer of basketball, I would say yes ... until the official blows the whistle, that was all he (#24) did was dribble the ball -- all 3 dribbles were in the backcourt until the official blew the whistle.

But what an observer sees isn't always how the rule is applied which is why I ask. I guess it is a question can you immediately become a dribbler on first touch of the ball. I'm not aware of a case/rule that speaks to this one way or another although there may be one.
In my view, he dribbled from FC to BC. Since he started with FC status, 3 points does not apply.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2016, 10:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
I've enjoyed watching this about ten times. Not because it was the right or wrong call, but because Eades was so acutely aware of the sequence of events that he was able to process the try, the establishment of team control, ball location and player location…all pretty much in the blink of an eye, and then put air in the whistle. How many of us would have passed and simply said, "I wasn't sure so I couldn't call it."

Hell of a call in that context.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation? gfortner16 Basketball 17 Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:26pm
Backcourt violation? zac Basketball 5 Sat Oct 24, 2009 09:47pm
Backcourt violation bronco Basketball 10 Mon Nov 06, 2006 07:15pm
Backcourt Violation? Sleeper Basketball 10 Mon Dec 09, 2002 04:06pm
Backcourt violation??? jshock Basketball 10 Wed Nov 27, 2002 01:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1