The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jan 21, 2016, 10:38am
Official Forum Member

No call or block. Shooter gets the whole right side of his body (arm and leg) past the defender before the slight contact occurs. If defender doesn't embellish then we have nothing to rule on. He caused the problem so its probably why he got the block in this case.

(And I'm an OU grad...)
Old Thu Jan 21, 2016, 11:16am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Official View Post
No call or block. Shooter gets the whole right side of his body (arm and leg) past the defender before the slight contact occurs. If defender doesn't embellish then we have nothing to rule on. He caused the problem so its probably why he got the block in this case.

(And I'm an OU grad...)
This isn't how the rule works. At all. The offense ran into the defense. Defense didn't do anything wrong therefore didn't cause any problem. LGP can start the length of the entire court.
Old Thu Jan 21, 2016, 11:21am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
That is not the deciding point for when the defender has to obtain LGP under any rule set. Even in the NBA, a defender has to obtain a legal position prior to the offensive player's upward movement of his shoulders to be considered legal. The habitual motion is almost always well before this point. And under NCAA/NFHS rules, a defender must obtain legal position prior to the opponent being airborne. The habitual motion is well before this point and to use this as the deciding point is penalizing the defense.
/thumbs up

Thank you for pointing that out.
Old Thu Jan 21, 2016, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member