The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 12:24pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
I think it is pretty clear, using article 5, that time should not be put back on the clock. And I quote, "Points scored, consumed time, and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
I think it is pretty clear, using article 5, that time should not be put back on the clock. And I quote, "Points scored, consumed time, and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified."
But we aren't discussing a correctable error here as defined in the rules to which that provision applies.

Interesting discussion - thanks all. And I guess this is another example of how there isn't necessarily a satisfactory answer when there is an officiating error. (Fortunately in my son's game it just didn't matter as only divine intervention or a bizarre technical foul could have given them a chance to win at that point.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 01:40pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
But we aren't discussing a correctable error here as defined in the rules to which that provision applies.

Interesting discussion - thanks all. And I guess this is another example of how there isn't necessarily a satisfactory answer when there is an officiating error. (Fortunately in my son's game it just didn't matter as only divine intervention or a bizarre technical foul could have given them a chance to win at that point.)
We are absolutely discussing a CE here.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 01:44pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
I think it is pretty clear, using article 5, that time should not be put back on the clock. And I quote, "Points scored, consumed time, and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified."
Was an unmerited free throw awarded? I don't think so, the second unmerited free throw never happened. The officials provided the wrong information. I don't believe this is a CE situation.

Last edited by OKREF; Mon Jan 11, 2016 at 01:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 01:46pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
This is for correctable error situations, and the play in the OP isn't a CE case.
yes it is. I'm not sure why it wouldn't be. It's the awarding of an unmerited free throw.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 01:50pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
yes it is. I'm not sure why it wouldn't be. It's the awarding of an unmerited free throw.
If the 2nd free throw would have been shot, I would agree with you, however that never happened. How can you have an unmerited free throw when it was never taken?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
If the 2nd free throw would have been shot, I would agree with you, however that never happened. How can you have an unmerited free throw when it was never taken?
It was never taken, but by virtue of the incorrect announcement it was awarded.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 02:00pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
It was never taken, but by virtue of the incorrect announcement it was awarded.
This would be my interpretation as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 02:01pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
If the 2nd free throw would have been shot, I would agree with you, however that never happened. How can you have an unmerited free throw when it was never taken?
It was awarded when the administering official stated "two shots." It was not corrected until after the clock started. Otherwise, what's the basis for stopping play at all?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 09:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
It was awarded when the administering official stated "two shots." It was not corrected until after the clock started. Otherwise, what's the basis for stopping play at all?
I disagree. It isn't awarded until is taken. The basis for stopping play is basically fairness by way of interpretation, not by any specific rule. The only way to stop the clock otherwise would be to declare the ball to have been dead on the miss and then we'd be putting time back.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 12, 2016, 11:23am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I disagree. It isn't awarded until is taken. The basis for stopping play is basically fairness by way of interpretation, not by any specific rule. The only way to stop the clock otherwise would be to declare the ball to have been dead on the miss and then we'd be putting time back.
In that case, we'd have to put time back in order to justify stopping play. Am I missing an interp on this?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Was an unmerited free throw awarded? I don't think so, the second unmerited free throw never happened. The officials provided the wrong information. I don't believe this is a CE situation.
The NFHS has stated in previous rulings included in the past interpretations archive that a situation such as this is not a CE. Announcing the wrong info is not the same as actually administering an unmerited FT. This is simply an officials' mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 09:22pm
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The NFHS has stated in previous rulings included in the past interpretations archive that a situation such as this is not a CE. Announcing the wrong info is not the same as actually administering an unmerited FT. This is simply an officials' mistake.

And again, I ask....why aren't these type of mistakes errr, ERRORS, correctable? Have they ever been or has it been discussed to add them as such?


I wish I had a cool signature
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 09:27pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
And again, I ask....why aren't these type of mistakes errr, ERRORS, correctable? Have they ever been or has it been discussed to add them as such?


I wish I had a cool signature
Because it's not one of the 5 correctable errors. Simple enough.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2016, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
And again, I ask....why aren't these type of mistakes errr, ERRORS, correctable? Have they ever been or has it been discussed to add them as such?


I wish I had a cool signature
Not in my 17 years of officiating. The NFHS and NCAA have stuck with the five CE situations. That's it. Everything else is a mistake by the officials. Some of those can be fixed, others can't and you are stuck with them.

Sports isn't perfect. It is a human activity that is going to be flawed. Mistakes are part of the game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
False Double Fouls and Bonus Administration jints Basketball 2 Fri May 11, 2012 05:49am
erroneous double bonus MPLAHE Basketball 1 Mon Jul 17, 2006 03:23pm
Double Foul Bonus MrLARef Basketball 1 Thu Jan 27, 2005 09:05am
High School double-bonus c_t_martin Basketball 3 Sat Feb 08, 2003 08:59pm
double bonus? mdray Basketball 5 Mon Dec 23, 2002 02:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1