The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 581
Lead inbounding on sideline

Really tired of getting conflicting advice from officials I respect, and now worried I'm passing along bad advice to subsequent partners.

In a two-official game, does L ever administer a throw-in along the sideline?

Situation pertains to ball OOB sideline below the FT line on lead's side. L whistles the play, of course. But does A) lead just bounce it a few feet up the sideline to get game restarted for the throw-in or B) should T come over to bounce it down the sideline to initiate throw-in?

I'm with B (when it's not a four-game rec-league morning). But yet again yesterday, I had a waaay veteran official tell me at hour hs game yesterday that lead "takes care of his line" and should administer.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,093
Probably depends on local / state mechanics.

Here, L administers throw-ins below the FT line.

T moves over (and, so does L) if the throw-in is above the FT line.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 11:10am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Probably depends on local / state mechanics.

Here, L administers throw-ins below the FT line.

T moves over (and, so does L) if the throw-in is above the FT line.
That is not the proper high school mechanic but I have seen people do this. That is a college mechanic that I only use when working a college game.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
That is not the proper high school mechanic but I have seen people do this. That is a college mechanic that I only use when working a college game.

Peace
Amended: Here, the L bounces the ball if the throw-in is below the halfway point of the FT line and the end line. The L moves "up top" (to become the T on the same side; old-T moves down to become L) if the FT is above that point.

From the IHSA presentation:

If the designated spot for the throw-in is half-way between the free-throw line extended and the end line, the Lead remains on the end line and will bounce the ball to the thrower-in.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
2.2.2.D.1 in the officials manual (looking at the 13-15 manual) regarding front court throw ins:

"The throw-in is administered by the official responsible for the boundary line. See Diagrams 2-8, 2-9, 2-10."

We follow the book in my area. So for a frontcourt throw in, you will either remain as lead and bounce the ball to the sideline thrower (if below FT line extended) or you will move to trail and your parter will shift down to lead (if the free throw is above the FT line as in Diagram 2-10). The Trail would only switch sides of the court to administer the throw-in if the ball was out of bounds for a backcourt throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 11:54am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,387
I thought we administered our own line in the FC in 2-man. If the ball goes OOB above the FT line, then the Lead would move up to Trail, and the old Trail slides down to the Lead.

This is what I advised the JV crew that worked in front of me last night.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
We were told at the Basketball Clinician meeting last April that the Trail makes all throw-ins on the sideline in the FC.

I will have to go back and look at my notes, but this was something specifically discussed and emphasized by HB and GG to make sure we did it this way.

Peace
Then they need to change the 2-person slides on the IHSA website.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 11:56am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,903
I am sorry, I have a brain fart, I am thinking only 3 person. Yeah it two person we can administer the ball as the lead.

I was just looking at what we discussed and this was a debate in 3 person at one point in the meeting.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
2.2.2.D.1 in the officials manual (looking at the 13-15 manual) regarding front court throw ins:

"The throw-in is administered by the official responsible for the boundary line. See Diagrams 2-8, 2-9, 2-10."

We follow the book in my area. So for a frontcourt throw in, you will either remain as lead and bounce the ball to the sideline thrower (if below FT line extended) or you will move to trail and your parter will shift down to lead (if the free throw is above the FT line as in Diagram 2-10). The Trail would only switch sides of the court to administer the throw-in if the ball was out of bounds for a backcourt throw in.
If you're following the book, this is not correct. T administers all sideline throw-ins in 2-man going by strict NFHS mechanics.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
If you're following the book, this is not correct. T administers all sideline throw-ins in 2-man going by strict NFHS mechanics.
Diagram 2-9 ... unless something changed in the most recent 2016 version of the officials manual.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 12:00pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,387
Per the NFHS Manual, 4.2.2D, official are to administer their boundary lines.

Per 4.2.2E, the Trail administers all BC throw-ins, to include crossing to the other side of the court if necessary.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I thought we administered our own line in the FC in 2-man. If the ball goes OOB above the FT line, then the Lead would move up to Trail, and the old Trail slides down to the Lead.

This is what I advised the JV crew that worked in front of me last night.
This is what we do. I thought this was what the manual says but I could be wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 12:09pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
This is what we do. I thought this was what the manual says but I could be wrong.
Look up at the post before yours.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Per the NFHS Manual, 4.2.2D, official are to administer their boundary lines.

Per 4.2.2E, the Trail administers all BC throw-ins, to include crossing to the other side of the court if necessary.
Either this is a typo or not applicable to the OP which had the throw-in in the FC.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2016, 12:50pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Either this is a typo or not applicable to the OP which had the throw-in in the FC.
4.2.2D is in reference to FC throw-ins.

4.2.2E is in reference to BC throw-ins.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sideline Warning/Sideline Interference Brandon Kincer Football 16 Sat May 23, 2009 09:33am
Inbounding after a T Chuck_Lewis Basketball 15 Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:51pm
inbounding xxssmen Basketball 3 Tue Mar 09, 2004 01:35pm
Inbounding gdub33 Basketball 2 Sat Jan 12, 2002 11:12pm
Inbounding DrC. Basketball 23 Tue May 02, 2000 03:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1