The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 30, 2015, 03:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
Some of you may have seen the save attempt by the Milwaukee player grabbed by OKC Coach Billy Donovan. My question is this: If a ball that is on its way out of bounds is attempted to be saved by a player, but the opposing coach makes an attempt to touch the ball, what do you do?? For the sake of argument we'll assume that actions of the opposing coach (not necessarily motives) are legal, by which I mean the coach touched the ball when it was legally OOB. So if the coach clearly makes an effort to quickly touch a ball that is barely OOB, when an opposing player has a legitimate chance to save it, you got anything?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
I think you meant to ask something else.

You can't have a coach touching a ball that's OOB and then have a legitimate chance to save it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
C'mon man. You and everyone else who reads this knows I meant a ball that is live but has traveled outside of the vertical boundary of the court. Don't be that guy, no one likes that guy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No, we didn't. You said it was OOB. Then you said it wasn't. I had no idea what you were trying to say.
Well ok then, like happens way too often on this forum, it seems we have to basically go to legal speak to explain a situation. Cameron says that I said it was OOB, then I said it wasn't. Nope. You are confusing the scenario with which I derived my question, with my actual question. So allow me to clarify for the few of you who may have been confused:

If a ball that is on its way OOBs close to the opponents bench, is intentinally touched by bench personnel of the opposing team while the ball has live status outside of the vertical plane of the boundary lines, but while being pursued by the offense, is there a penalty? I realize that by the book there may be nothing, but does anyone consider this an unsporting act if the officials clearly determine that the coach (or whoever) touched the ball in an effort to neutralize an opponents clear advantage?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OOB touched by coach Hardwood Basketball 3 Thu Jan 31, 2008 03:49pm
B/R never touched first MRD Baseball 5 Sat Jun 10, 2006 07:34pm
Not sure if this was touched on.. cowbyfan1 Baseball 1 Thu May 12, 2005 11:46am
who touched it last? splinter Basketball 6 Tue Oct 12, 2004 09:49am
Live ball touched by coach zebraman Basketball 17 Thu Nov 20, 2003 02:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1