The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2015, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Doesn't it seem like the whistle came from an unseen Trail?

Neither the L or C (if there is, in fact, a T in this game) has any reaction that would indicate they blew the whistle or plan to wave this off.

T here would have the worst possible angle, is obviously very far away to be out of the frame and might be straightlined into thinking it hit a support.

Not good enough to wave it off, but just a possible explanation.

To me, looks like C was on top of it and had nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 24, 2015, 01:07am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
maybe he thought it hit something in the back, the ball did kind of go back then forward. But it appears to be the wrong call.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 24, 2015, 01:35am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Doesn't it seem like the whistle came from an unseen Trail?

Neither the L or C (if there is, in fact, a T in this game) has any reaction that would indicate they blew the whistle or plan to wave this off.

T here would have the worst possible angle, is obviously very far away to be out of the frame and might be straightlined into thinking it hit a support.

Not good enough to wave it off, but just a possible explanation.

To me, looks like C was on top of it and had nothing.
This belongs to the T. Seems that he was way to deep, but I do believe it's the T's and not the C's.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 24, 2015, 01:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
This belongs to the T. Seems that he was way to deep, but I do believe it's the T's and not the C's.
Agreed. Not sure why anyone would think the T has the worst view, especially considering there's an L on the floor.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 24, 2015, 02:12am
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Agreed. Not sure why anyone would think the T has the worst view, especially considering there's an L on the floor.
Because look at the middle wire on the rim. Pretty hard to tell if it just barely touches it. As the C, nearly same view as us, has a clear view of whether the ball hit anything it shouldn't have.

T may very well have gone, well maybe it hit something, WHISTLE. Then regretted blowing air.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 24, 2015, 03:33am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
Because look at the middle wire on the rim. Pretty hard to tell if it just barely touches it. As the C, nearly same view as us, has a clear view of whether the ball hit anything it shouldn't have.

T may very well have gone, well maybe it hit something, WHISTLE. Then regretted blowing air.
It still belongs to the trail, not the C. Now we can have a discussion about the positioning of the T, but the C has other things to watch, shooter, defense crossing the free throw line, other lane violations, rebounding action. This belongs to the trail.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 24, 2015, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 391
Yes - I'm well aware the shooter can step over the line once the ball contacts the rim.

Since everyone seems to be thinking that it was whistled (falsely) because it hit the top of the backboard, what I was wondering is if the play was whistled instead (falsely) because she stepped over the line. If we're talking about an official that doesn't know the ball can't hit the top of the backboard, why aren't we considering that the official doesn't know she can't now step over the line?

If you watch the video, she steps over the line and almost immediately the whistle gets blown. Unfortunately, that is approximately the time that the ball contacts the top of the backboard.
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 24, 2015, 09:44am
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danvrapp View Post
Yes - I'm well aware the shooter can step over the line once the ball contacts the rim.

Since everyone seems to be thinking that it was whistled (falsely) because it hit the top of the backboard, what I was wondering is if the play was whistled instead (falsely) because she stepped over the line. If we're talking about an official that doesn't know the ball can't hit the top of the backboard, why aren't we considering that the official doesn't know she can't now step over the line?

If you watch the video, she steps over the line and almost immediately the whistle gets blown. Unfortunately, that is approximately the time that the ball contacts the top of the backboard.
Legit point. OP said the whistle was blown after it hit the top, but not what the official said/did after it happened. We don't know.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 24, 2015, 09:39am
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
It still belongs to the trail, not the C. Now we can have a discussion about the positioning of the T, but the C has other things to watch, shooter, defense crossing the free throw line, other lane violations, rebounding action. This belongs to the trail.
No we don't and you completely missed the point.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 03:05pm
SAK SAK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 284
Count the free throw. Top, bottom, and sides of backboard are all in-bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 30, 2015, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
ruling on the field stands ... I can't tell for sure from the video whether or not the ball touched the wire support. I thought it did when watching in real time, then thought not in slow motion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free throw count soundedlikeastrike Basketball 6 Sun Jan 17, 2010 07:00pm
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
10 sec count on free throws DJ Basketball 10 Thu Jan 15, 2004 10:06am
free throw blooper / count the foul or not Ridge Wiz Basketball 4 Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:53pm
Free Throw Count Blackhawk357 Basketball 5 Sun Feb 16, 2003 06:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1