The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2015, 06:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
Based on the OP, I would say that the ball being caught by A1, and B3 entering happen simultaneously, not in series. I think that gives us the wiggle room to be able to say, "Hold up, my bad" and reload. If the shooter clearly has it, and THEN B3 enters, delayed violation.
By the book yes. But as it has been stated the acceptable approach is that we blow the whistle get the ball back and start over. Shouldn't punish a team because we were in a rush.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2015, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Okay, we got our tests back for review today. They say I missed 8. I have serious issues with their results.

A1 is at the free throw line for a single try. The official bounces the ball towards A1, and does not see that B3 is trying to get to the 3rd lane space on the opposite side. By the time A1 catches the ball, B3 is crossing the free throw line, moving into the 3rd lane space. The officials stop the free throw, take the ball from the shooter, and allow the players to reset along the lane. No violation is called.

true or false
By the way, a little off topic here, but what route is he taking that he needs to cross the free throw line??? Should that maybe say lane line? Another example of a question that could easily be worded much better...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2015, 06:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
By the book yes. But as it has been stated the acceptable approach is that we blow the whistle get the ball back and start over. Shouldn't punish a team because we were in a rush.
Oh I agree entirely, if its even remotely close I will kill it. I've never once had a coach make any sort of argument that there may have been a violation. Now if its 2 seconds after A1 has it? Too late
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2015, 06:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,671
Wiggle Room ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
Based on the OP, I would say that the ball being caught by A1, and B3 entering happen simultaneously, not in series. I think that gives us the wiggle room to be able to say, "Hold up, my bad" and reload. If the shooter clearly has it, and THEN B3 enters, delayed violation.
Agree 100%.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2015, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
By the way, a little off topic here, but what route is he taking that he needs to cross the free throw line??? Should that maybe say lane line? Another example of a question that could easily be worded much better...
I think they meant FT line extended.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2015, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think they meant FT line extended.
Well even so, think about the route taken to get to the 3rd spot. Either he's pointlessly walking down the sideline and going to take a 90 degree turn once he gets inside the FT line extended, or he's so far inside the 3 point line that there is no way anyone should've administered the ball in the first place. Just odd.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2015, 12:40pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Interesting discussion. No doubt many of us would blow the play dead and allow the player in with no penalty if we thought we were at fault for not seeing
him. But technically I don't see any provision in the rules for doing so, and that's what I think of the test as being, all about technicalities. And what about all the variables here which are unknown? B3 may have been standing in this same spot behind the free throw shooter all night, but decided at the last split second for whatever reason to step in on this one. I think technically this is false, but in real life it is very often true, and should be. Moreover, I will file it away under BAD QUESTIONS WHICH SHOULD NEVER, EVER APPEAR ON A TEST.

Thanks for the opinions.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CCA Test Answers commteacher Football 1 Thu Jul 13, 2006 06:20pm
test answers Ohioref3 Football 2 Mon Oct 03, 2005 02:31am
Test 2 Answers Gatorbbref Basketball 13 Fri Dec 31, 2004 02:20am
Test answers dr_donald_t Basketball 134 Wed Nov 17, 2004 07:22am
Test Answers? Snake~eyes Football 13 Sun Nov 02, 2003 01:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1