Quote:
Originally Posted by The R
B1 commits a violation and A1 is awarded the ball out of bounds. During the throw in A1 holds the ball through the boundary plane and B1 ties the ball up to a point that we have a held ball situation.
The AP arrow is pointing to team A. The ball is awarded to team A for another throw in. The same situation occurs and A1 holds the ball through the boundary plane. B1 again grabs and ties the ball up where we have another held ball situation.
Which team is awarded the ball?
Rules reference?
|
I don't have my rule book here with me right this moment, but the correct ruling is that A1 would be awarded another AP throw-in.
Here is why:
1. A1 has the ball for the AP throw-in. B1 ties up A1. By rule, the throw-in never ended (check out the section in the rule book that explains when a throw-in ends).
2. Since the throw-in never ended, the arrow was never changed.
3. Since the arrow never changed, the resulting AP throw-in is again awarded to A1 (check out the section that lists when the AP arrow is set/changed in the rule book).
4. Once this throw-in ends, the arrow will be changed to point to Team B.
The answer to the question all comes down to knowing when the arrow is switched per rule, which also requires knowledge of when a throw-in ends.