![]() |
|
|
|||
Throw-in question
Our study guide was totally redone this year, apparently with the intent of making it significantly more difficult to earn our ratings and the recent pay raise. The study guide was 150 questions, and the test was 70. Some were taken directly from the guide, while others were tweaked to make sure you learned the rule as opposed to memorizing the questions. There was no official answer key, but our assignor obtained an answer sheet from an outside source and posted it for our consideration and to stimulate discussion. I disagreed with 11 out of the 150 true/false answers given. The following question was on the guide, and also appeared on my test. Everybody did not get the same test, as I understand it.
During a throw-in in the frontcourt on the sideline by the bench, B1, defending the pass right along the sideline, deflects the pass up in the air, and the ball enters the basket. Because the throw-in has not ended and team control was not established inbounds, the administering official signals the ball dead and disallows the 3 point basket. True or false
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
the question overall has to be false. |
|
|||
This was such a bad question that I didn't know what to think. If you say it's false that they disallowed the 3 point basket does that mean that they scored a 3 point basket? It obviously should be false that the ball should be ruled dead.
THERE WAS NO 3 POINT BASKET TO DISALLOW. I have issues here no matter what the "correct" answer turns out to be.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
in another way, you just know the question cant be true so it has to be false. test writers dont think many times... Last edited by BigCat; Sat Nov 21, 2015 at 11:39pm. |
|
|||
I am not an official. As with all similar questions, I am assuming "true or false" to mean "true or false: the administering official is correct."
The answer is FALSE, because for it to be TRUE, then the rationale of "the throw-in has not ended" must be the correct reason a 3-point basket is not scored. |
|
|||
Officials observing the court during the pre-game notice that the chairs used for team benches are placed in front of the existing permanent bleachers and that there is only 3 feet of open space in front of the empty chairs. The officials rule that this bench area is legal for the game.
True or False Spaces for non-jumpers and free throw lane spaces along the free throw lane are the same width and depth. True or False
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw-in question. | KenThree | Basketball | 22 | Tue Nov 23, 2010 07:32pm |
Throw in question | sj | Basketball | 22 | Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:48am |
Throw question pt2 | icallfouls | Basketball | 9 | Wed Dec 03, 2008 04:39am |
Throw in question. | mu4scott | Basketball | 7 | Fri Feb 22, 2008 06:27pm |
two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |