The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   In-bound pass that goes into the basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100364-bound-pass-goes-into-basket.html)

bob jenkins Sun Nov 22, 2015 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970420)
2) When the throwin ends (when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds).

Read 4-12-3 and 4-12-4. Do they apply?

BillyMac Sun Nov 22, 2015 03:45pm

Team Control During A Throwin ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 970438)
Read 4-12-3 and 4-12-4. Do they apply?

4-12: ART. 3 Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
ART. 4 While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in control of
the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap for goal.

Even in a throwin situation where the concept of team control is only necessary for the charging of a team control foul during the throwin?

So, if inbounder A1 has a throwin, passes it onto the court, where it's batted, tipped, and tapped, around, pinball style, by players from both teams, none of whom gains player control, and during which no foul by Team A was charged, then did Team A still maintain team control during that entire sequence of events, even when the throwin ended when it was touched by a player inbounds? So, if Team A fouled during end of this pinball situation, would it still be considered a team control foul, even though the throwin ended?

It seems to me that team control on a throwin, was given, by definition, to the throwin team when the NFHS decided that a foul by Team A during said throwin would be a team control foul with no free throws, and that team control during a throwin was not relevant to other situations, for example, backcourt.

Comments On The 2011-12 Revisions:

TEAM CONTROL DURING A THROW-IN (4-12-1, 2, 6): Several definitions were
changed to reflect that team control will now exist during a throw-in when the
thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change primarily affects how foul
penalties will be administered.
By changing the definition of player and team control
to include a throw-in, greater consistency in penalty administration for a
common foul is achieved. Under the previous rule, because there was no team
control during a throw-in, the penalty for a common foul committed by the throw
in team after the throw-in had begun resulted in free throws if the offended team
was in the bonus, which was inconsistent with the penalty for a team-control foul
in non-throw-in situations. The rules change will result in greater consistency in
penalty enforcement and expedite the contest by eliminating the delay inherent
with administering free throws.

Hey. I've been known to be wrong before, probably more than once, or twice.

Help me to understand.

BigCat Mon Nov 23, 2015 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970447)
4-12: ART. 3 Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
ART. 4 While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in control of
the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap for goal.

Even in a throwin situation where the concept of team control is only necessary for the charging of a team control foul during the throwin?

So, if inbounder A1 has a throwin, passes it onto the court, where it's batted, tipped, and tapped, around, pinball style, by players from both teams, none of whom gains player control, and during which no foul by Team A was charged, then did Team A still maintain team control during that entire sequence of events, even when the throwin ended when it was touched by a player inbounds? So, if Team A fouled during end of this pinball situation, would it still be considered a team control foul, even though the throwin ended?

It seems to me that team control on a throwin, was given, by definition, to the throwin team when the NFHS decided that a foul by Team A during said throwin would be a team control foul with no free throws, and that team control during a throwin was not relevant to other situations, for example, backcourt.

Comments On The 2011-12 Revisions:

TEAM CONTROL DURING A THROW-IN (4-12-1, 2, 6): Several definitions were
changed to reflect that team control will now exist during a throw-in when the
thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change primarily affects how foul
penalties will be administered.
By changing the definition of player and team control
to include a throw-in, greater consistency in penalty administration for a
common foul is achieved. Under the previous rule, because there was no team
control during a throw-in, the penalty for a common foul committed by the throw
in team after the throw-in had begun resulted in free throws if the offended team
was in the bonus, which was inconsistent with the penalty for a team-control foul
in non-throw-in situations. The rules change will result in greater consistency in
penalty enforcement and expedite the contest by eliminating the delay inherent
with administering free throws.

Hey. I've been known to be wrong before, probably more than once, or twice.

Help me to understand.

Look at 4-19-7. "a team control foul is…(including a member of the throw in team from the start of the throw in until PC is obtained inbounds)."

also, the 2014/15 poe mentions that its ONLY purpose is to deal with fouls by throw in team.

BillyMac Mon Nov 23, 2015 04:29pm

Throwin Team Control ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 970514)
4-19-7 ... a team control foul is…(including a member of the throw in team from the start of the throw in until PC is obtained inbounds)...

Nice citation. So while that hot potato ball is pin balling around (how about that for a mixed metaphor) a team control foul can be charged until player control is established?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 970514)
the 2014/15 poe mentions that its ONLY purpose is to deal with fouls by throw in team.

So for purposes other than a team control foul, team control ended when the throw in ended, that is, when the ball was touched by the player at the free throw line?

Two questions marks. Am I on the right track.

bob jenkins Mon Nov 23, 2015 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970558)
Nice citation. So while that hot potato ball is pin balling around (how about that for a mixed metaphor) a team control foul can be charged until player control is established?



So for purposes other than a team control foul, team control ended when the throw in ended, that is, when the ball was touched by the player at the free throw line?

Two questions marks. Am I on the right track.

Yes.

You need to decide whether they *really* mean "only" in the POE, or whether "primarily" is correct -- with all the examples in the current POE certainly being examples where "no TC" is correct and maybe the play in this thread being an example where "TC" is correct.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 24, 2015 01:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970558)
Nice citation. So while that hot potato ball is pin balling around (how about that for a mixed metaphor) a team control foul can be charged until player control is established?



So for purposes other than a team control foul, team control ended when the throw in ended, that is, when the ball was touched by the player at the free throw line?

Two questions marks. Am I on the right track.

Not really.....there are effectively two types of team control.

One starts with the throwin....lets call it partial team control. One starts when player control is established inbounds....lets call it full team control.

"Partial TC" only affects fouls. "Full TC" affects everything else. Both end the same way....when the other team gains control, when the ball becomes dead, on a try, etc....

I know I made up some terms here but that is really what is needed to clarify this whole mess. Maybe there are some better words....any ideas?

Nevadaref Tue Nov 24, 2015 04:40am

I agree that the NFHS has written that team control from the beginning of a throw-in until an inbounds player controls the ball is only for the purpose of a team control foul, but how is an official from the past five years to know that?

The NFHS is failing to correctly inform numerous new officials, coaches, and players of the rule by failing to update the rules book.

BigCat Tue Nov 24, 2015 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 970596)
I agree that the NFHS has written that team control from the beginning of a throw-in until an inbounds player controls the ball is only for the purpose of a team control foul, but how is an official from the past five years to know that?

The NFHS is failing to correctly inform numerous new officials, coaches, and players of the rule by failing to update the rules book.

It is a problem. Same thing with the elbow rule. an official won't find anything about an "elbow in motion/movement or stationary…" in the rule or case book. That has been 3 or so years. We'll probably be saying the same thing in a few years about crossing the FT line before the Ft hits rim etc. we'll see if it makes it into the book.

All rules should be in rule book or case book. NCAA books are much better imo.

BillyMac Tue Nov 24, 2015 05:11pm

What's A Rookie Official To Do ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 970644)
All rules should be in rule book or case book.

Agree. Points of Emphasis are here today, and gone tomorrow.

The NFHS has overly depended on Points of Emphasis, instead of making permanent changes in the rulebook, and/or casebook, over the past few years.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1