The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   In-bound pass that goes into the basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100364-bound-pass-goes-into-basket.html)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Nov 22, 2015 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970301)
5.2.1 SITUATION D: Following the free throws for a technical foul, A1 makes a
throw-in from out of bounds at the division line opposite the table. The throw-in
pass is deflected at A’s free-throw line by: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and it then goes directly
through A’s basket. RULING: Score two points for Team A in both (a) and (b).
The throw-in ended when the ball was touched by an inbounds player and the live
ball subsequently passed through the basket. The fact it was not a tap or a try for
goal does not affect the scoring of two points. (4-41-4)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 970393)
Ok, Smarty, if an official did mistakenly whistle for a goaltending violation under the circumstances set forth in the Case Book play, please inform us of how the game would be resumed and why.



Nevada:

Ooo!! Ooo!! I know!! I know!! Please call on me!! Please call on me!!

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:36am

Point Of Interuption ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 970393)
... if an official did mistakenly whistle for a goaltending violation under the circumstances set forth in the Case Book play, please inform us of how the game would be resumed and why.

Inadvertent whistle. The throwin ended when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds. No team control (no team foul involved). Go to the arrow.

4-36 Point Of Interuption
ART. 1 Method of resuming play due to an official's inadvertent whistle, an
interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal,
double technical or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10.
ART. 2 Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods:
a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred.
b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this
activity or if a team is entitled to such.
c. A jump ball or alternating-possession throw-in when neither team is in
control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved
when the game is interrupted.

But where? Site of the throwin, or spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred?

My guess: Spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred.

Am I right? Did I win a prize?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970407)
Inadvertent whistle. The throwin ended when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds. No team control (no team foul involved). Go to the arrow.

4-36 Point Of Interuption
ART. 1 Method of resuming play due to an official's inadvertent whistle, an
interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal,
double technical or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10.
ART. 2 Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods:
a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred.
b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this
activity or if a team is entitled to such.
c. A jump ball or alternating-possession throw-in when neither team is in
control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved
when the game is interrupted.

But where? Site of the throwin, or spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred?

My guess: Spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred.

Am I right? Did I win a prize?


But who gets the Ball for the Throw-in, and why? And what kind of Throw-in will it be?

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:55am

Do I Get to Pick A Prize From The Top Shelf ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 970412)
But who gets the Ball for the Throw-in, and why? And what kind of Throw-in will it be?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970407)
Go to the arrow.

4-36 Point Of Interruption
ART. 1 Method of resuming play due to an official's inadvertent whistle ...
ART. 2 Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods:
c. ... alternating-possession throw-in when neither team is in
control ...

Did I win a prize?

bob jenkins Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970407)
Inadvertent whistle. The throwin ended when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds. No team control (no team foul involved). Go to the arrow.


When does TC start? When does TC end? Does the throw-in ending have anything to do with TC?

(or, am I asking these questions to lead you down the proverbial garden path?)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 970417)
When does TC start? When does TC end? Does the throw-in ending have anything to do with TC?

(or, am I asking these questions to lead you down the proverbial garden path?)


I was trying to lead him down the primrose path myself.

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:05pm

C'mon bob jenkins, Please Just Give Me The Answer ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 970417)
When does TC start? When does TC end? Does the throw-in ending have anything to do with TC?

1) When the ball is at disposal of the inbounding player for a throw-in.

2) When the throwin ends (when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds).

3) Yes. Team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected, by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Point: Team control on a throwin is only for the purposes of a team control foul during a throwin. There was no foul in the casebook play, so team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected (touched, or was legally touched) by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Confucius says: Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

Just give me the damn fish.

BigCat Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970420)
1) When the ball is at disposal of the inbounding player for a throw-in.

2) When the throwin ends (when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds).

3) Yes. Team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected, by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Point: Team control on a throwin is only for the purposes of a team control foul during a throwin. There was no foul in the casebook play, so team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected (touched, or was legally touched) by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Confucius says: Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

Just give me the damn fish.

You are right. we don't know who gets the ball because we don't know who had the arrow. It will be an AP throw in nearest the location of the ball. case plays for POI when no team in control say nearest location of ball.

Team control during a throw in says it lasts until the ball is secured. However, as you pointed out, the sole purpose for this rule--stated when it came out--is to avoid shooting free throws when the throw in team commits a foul during the throw in or after it ends but before a team possesses the ball. For any other situations the regular team control rules apply.

BillyMac Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:40pm

Rocket Ship Diagram © 2009, Back In The Saddle ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 970423)
You are right. we don't know who gets the ball because we don't know who had the arrow. It will be an AP throw in nearest the location of the ball. case plays for POI when no team in control say nearest location of ball.

Nearest location of ball?

7.5.3 SITUATION: An official sounds his/her whistle inadvertently: (c) while A1's unsuccessful three-point try attempt is in flight; RULING: The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. In (c), since there is no team control when the ball becomes dead, the ball is put in play by the team entitled to the throw-in using the alternating-possession procedure at a spot
nearest to where A1 was last in contact with ball when the whistle was sounded.


A throwin at the spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred, is only for when there is team control when the interruption occurred. There was no team control when the interruption occurred in this situation.

It looks like the alternating possession throwin should be at the closest spot to where the throwin pass was deflected at A’s free-throw line.


https://c2.staticflickr.com/8/7137/7...40b397d7_m.jpg

Do I still get a prize?

Hasn't this become a great thread?

BigCat Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970424)
Nearest location of ball?

7.5.3 SITUATION: An official sounds his/her whistle inadvertently: (c) while A1's unsuccessful three-point try attempt is in flight; RULING: The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. In (c), since there is no team control when the ball becomes dead, the ball is put in play by the team entitled to the throw-in using the alternating-possession procedure at a spot
nearest to where A1 was last in contact with ball when the whistle was sounded.


It looks like the alternating possession throwin should be at the closest spot to where the throwin pass was deflected at A’s free-throw line.

https://c2.staticflickr.com/8/7137/7...40b397d7_m.jpg

Do I still get a prize?

Hasn't this become a great thread?

i agree about your ball location. I will give you a fish. We'll see what Nevada says.

BillyMac Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:51pm

All I Won Was A Lousy Fish ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 970425)
We'll see what Nevada says.

Don't forget Mark T. DeNucci, Sr., and bob jenkiins.

Basketball rules are tough. There has got to be an easier sport to officiate.

Croquet, Mark Padgett?

BigCat Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970420)
1) When the ball is at disposal of the inbounding player for a throw-in.

2) When the throwin ends (when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds).

3) Yes. Team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected, by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Point: Team control on a throwin is only for the purposes of a team control foul during a throwin. There was no foul in the casebook play, so team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected (touched, or was legally touched) by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Confucius says: Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

Just give me the damn fish.

I'm going to take half of the fish back. your number 2 above is off. Team control for throw in purposes MAY not end when the throw in ends. If the ball is deflected the throw in is over but if the throw in team fouls before the ball is secured it is still a team control foul. It is a fiction created for the sole purpose to avoid shooting Fts when the throw in team fouls before throw in ends or possession secured. Your answer is right in the end but i am taking off for this slight error….

BillyMac Sun Nov 22, 2015 01:00pm

Is That You Mr. Dalton ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 970427)
Your answer is right in the end but i am taking off for this slight error….

Did you teach high school chemistry back in 1970?

BigCat Sun Nov 22, 2015 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970429)
Did you teach high school chemistry back in 1970?

took naps..in kindergarten...

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Nov 22, 2015 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970426)
Don't forget Mark T. DeNucci, Sr., and bob jenkiins.

Basketball rules are tough. There has got to be an easier sport to officiate.

Croquet, Mark Padgett?


Actually, from what my friends tell me, football rules are the ultimate in complexity. I am sure that Jeff and Tony can weigh in on that.

But the easiest is futbol, I mean soccer. I officiated H.S. soccer from 1993 to 2005, and nothing infuriated those sports officials who only officiate soccer, was my position that I could take any competent H.S. basketball official and make him a competent H.S. soccer official in less than one H.S. soccer season. But the reverse was not true for soccer officials.

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1