| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Catch or no catch
			 
			 
			
		
		
		
			
			Had the following last night while I'm umping behind the plate:  Short pop fly near the foul line.  Pitcher makes a diving catch, rolls over and lands on his back.  As he raises he glove to show me the catch, the ball pops out.   
 
I signaled out, explaining to the offensive team's coach that I felt the player had possession and the ball came out when he was showing me the catch. 
 
After reading Rule: 2-9-1 on a catch, I'm still not sure if I interpreted it correctly.  Is the player showing me the catch considered "continuing action of the catch"?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |