The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 24, 2014, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Rule 8 Section 4 Art 2
(m) Any runner is out when he passes an unobstructed preceding runner before such runner is out (including awarded bases);...

If, as MD Longhorn stated, the trailing runner did not entirely pass the preceding runner that's one thing but if the trailing runner actually touches home while the lead runner has peeled off and is high fiving his teammates (before he has reached home plate), in my opinion you have no choice but to call the trailing runner out. What you do with the lead runner would be subject to appeal I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 24, 2014, 12:29pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
Rule 8 Section 4 Art 2
(m) Any runner is out when he passes an unobstructed preceding runner before such runner is out (including awarded bases);...

If, as MD Longhorn stated, the trailing runner did not entirely pass the preceding runner that's one thing but if the trailing runner actually touches home while the lead runner has peeled off and is high fiving his teammates (before he has reached home plate), in my opinion you have no choice but to call the trailing runner out. What you do with the lead runner would be subject to appeal I guess.
There really is nothing more to do with the lead runner. He never touched home, so once the third out is recorded when the trail runner passes him, the inning is over and the rest of the runners are null and void.

Now, if the trail runner's out is the first or second out, then the lead runner better realize he needs to continue and touch home before the batter-runner passes him as well.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 24, 2014, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Convoluted as it may seem (and we've had this conversation here before), it is possible for a runner to not pass, yet score ahead of the preceding runner - and not break any rules. Logic says the runs must score in order, but the rulebook doesn't. If R1 is standing right by the plate, R2 touches, then R1 touches, you don't have any grounds for removing a run or calling an out.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 24, 2014, 01:26pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Call R1 out and end the inning. Yes, you're gonna have a big argument, but the offense screwed up by wanting to be too quick to celebrate.

You have a chance to do some preventive officiating in these situations by telling the offense "Stay back & let 'em touch." This will be a subtle reminder to the runners to touch home before starting the high-fives.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 24, 2014, 02:51pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Convoluted as it may seem (and we've had this conversation here before), it is possible for a runner to not pass, yet score ahead of the preceding runner - and not break any rules. Logic says the runs must score in order, but the rulebook doesn't. If R1 is standing right by the plate, R2 touches, then R1 touches, you don't have any grounds for removing a run or calling an out.
I remember that discussion. But if this were to happen in my game, I'm not going to visually measure the distance between R1 and home plate, and then extrapolate that since R2 probably touched home while his trailing edge was still superimposed on R1's leading edge, R2 still did not meet the strictest definition of "passing". Why cut R1 some slack when it's clear he gave up his baserunning responsibilities?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 24, 2014, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I remember that discussion. But if this were to happen in my game, I'm not going to visually measure the distance between R1 and home plate, and then extrapolate that since R2 probably touched home while his trailing edge was still superimposed on R1's leading edge, R2 still did not meet the strictest definition of "passing". Why cut R1 some slack when it's clear he gave up his baserunning responsibilities?
You're not cutting anyone anything. Passing is a call you do not make unless you're POSITIVE R2 passed R1. The benefit of the doubt goes the opposite direction that you're giving it. You're not measuring, extrapolating, superimposing to try to excuse a possible pass... you're only calling him out for passing if you are absolutely sure that he did so.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 24, 2014, 03:50pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
You're not cutting anyone anything. Passing is a call you do not make unless you're POSITIVE R2 passed R1. The benefit of the doubt goes the opposite direction that you're giving it. You're not measuring, extrapolating, superimposing to try to excuse a possible pass... you're only calling him out for passing if you are absolutely sure that he did so.
And in order to be absolutely sure, you will have to measure, extrapolate and superimpose.

Sorry, but I cannot for the life of me justify not making that call if R1 stops short of the plate to high-five trail runners, no matter how close he remains to the plate, and the trail runners go on by.

You're right, it's not in the rule book. But I just find it hard to believe that the rule makers would not consider a runner who touches home after a previous runner stops short of it as a form of passing.

Using your argument, R2 could be completely in front of R1, with the exception of his pinky finger of his trailing hand being intertwined with R1's pinky finger of his leading hand, and not have passed him. Even though R2's torso is almost six feet ahead of R1's torso, you would say R2 isn't out yet.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 24, 2014, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Using your argument, R2 could be completely in front of R1, with the exception of his pinky finger of his trailing hand being intertwined with R1's pinky finger of his leading hand, and not have passed him. Even though R2's torso is almost six feet ahead of R1's torso, you would say R2 isn't out yet.
I'm not making an argument. I'm explaining the rule.

And given that not that long ago was a caseplay where BR was rounding first and R1 was holding to see if it was caught - and as BR was about to pass, R1 grabbed BR's hand and spun BR in front of, past him, and back behind him - and the ruling was not out... I guess to your pinkie intertwined TWP - that guy's not out either.

Plus the play where R2 from first and R1 from second are coming home with R1 on R2's heels - R2 slides between R1's legs and touches home just before R1 - also not passing and both runs count...

As to extrapolating, blah blah blah. If you are not in position to clearly see daylight between the two runners, then they did not pass. If you have to guess, they did not pass. And the moment you say torso in the argument, you've lost the protest.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1