The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 18, 2014, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 209
Rule Book

I agree on both points but habe not been able to find how to prove it in the rule book. Can anyone hell there?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 18, 2014, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 177
Substitute S1 bats for F1. Does S1 have to complete pitching an at bat during the next 1/2 inning. Of course not. Projected substitues are not allowed. players who substitute while a team is on offense do not have a defensive position till the team takes the field on defense. At that time S1 or another player becomes F1.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 18, 2014, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
I agree on both points but habe not been able to find how to prove it in the rule book. Can anyone hell there?
1) 3.1.1M

2) Rule CR1 specifically saysF1 or F2 -- not DH
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 18, 2014, 09:06pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
I agree on both points but habe not been able to find how to prove it in the rule book. Can anyone hell there?
Courtesy runners are for the pitcher and catcher, not John who is the pitcher or Jim who is the catcher. Therefore when Bob come in to PR he is neither a pitcher nor a catcher so he cannot be CR for. The CR is a positional substitution. If a player comes in on offense as a substitute for the pitcher or catcher they are only a pinch hitter and/or pinch runner and have not yet become the pitcher or catcher. That is exactly how it should be explained.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 19, 2014, 12:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 209
That is exactly how I explained it

That is exactly how I explained it but the umpires told me I was wrong and the substitute was now the catcher. This is a problem I have had in the past. I can show the umpires exactly what the rule book says but the "interpret" it to mean what they want it to mean. They even told me they contacted their interpreter and that he confirmed that they were correct. I have no way of knowing that they did or did not contact him but what am I to do if he says something in black and white in the rule book is wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 19, 2014, 12:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
That is exactly how I explained it but the umpires told me I was wrong and the substitute was now the catcher. This is a problem I have had in the past. I can show the umpires exactly what the rule book says but the "interpret" it to mean what they want it to mean. They even told me they contacted their interpreter and that he confirmed that they were correct. I have no way of knowing that they did or did not contact him but what am I to do if he says something in black and white in the rule book is wrong?
Protest, if you can.

That being said, until someone showed me that interpretation, I had the same opinion, because I was keeping the intent of the rule in mind.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 19, 2014, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
I disagree.

Case play 3.1.1 Sit M does not cover this situation. and the interp presented is different than the situation presented in thread No. 1. All sit 2 said was the way the coach utilized the sub and catcher was legal. It does not say that the starting catcher has to come back in the game in order for there to be CR.

Having said that, where in the rule book or Case book does it say a (Pinch hitter)/ Substitute does not become a catcher or pitcher when substituting for that player on offense.

Just give a rule reference and not your opinion, and this whole thing is solved.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 19, 2014, 12:44pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
I disagree.

Case play 3.1.1 Sit M does not cover this situation. and the interp presented is different than the situation presented in thread No. 1. All sit 2 said was the way the coach utilized the sub and catcher was legal. It does not say that the starting catcher has to come back in the game in order for there to be CR.

Having said that, where in the rule book or Case book does it say a (Pinch hitter)/ Substitute does not become a catcher or pitcher when substituting for that player on offense.

Just give a rule reference and not your opinion, and this whole thing is solved.
If he is a sustitute on offense he is a PH, not a catcher till he actually catches. You can't project a sub otherwise you could say that Bob on second is going to be my catcher in the next half inning and then CR from him. If they go on defense and then Bob isn't a catcher you now have a problem.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 19, 2014, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
If he is a sustitute on offense he is a PH, not a catcher till he actually catches. You can't project a sub otherwise you could say that Bob on second is going to be my catcher in the next half inning and then CR from him. If they go on defense and then Bob isn't a catcher you now have a problem.
Just give a rule reference and not your opinion, and this whole thing is solved.

Show me the definition of a Pinch Hitter.

REFERENCE PLEASE such as:

NFHS 2-36-1 "A substitute is a player that is eligible to replace another player already in the line-up." or

3-1-1.d "a substitute has entered the game when the ball is live and :.........d. a batter takes his place in the batter's box"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 19, 2014, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
I disagree.

Case play 3.1.1 Sit M does not cover this situation.
It's 3.1.1N. My bad on the typo.

It includes ".. a courtesy runner would only be allowed to run for the player who was the catcher on defense before coming to bat"
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 21, 2014, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It's 3.1.1N. My bad on the typo.

It includes ".. a courtesy runner would only be allowed to run for the player who was the catcher on defense before coming to bat"
Thanks Bob, I was able to research this over the weekend and found that both the NFHS Rules and Case book do a bad job of clearly defining a "projected substitution".

A simple sentence like:

"Offensive changes must be reported when the team is on offense and defensive changes must be reported when a team is on defense." would help.

Thanks for the clarification.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 19, 2014, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
That is exactly how I explained it but the umpires told me I was wrong and the substitute was now the catcher. This is a problem I have had in the past. I can show the umpires exactly what the rule book says but the "interpret" it to mean what they want it to mean. They even told me they contacted their interpreter and that he confirmed that they were correct. I have no way of knowing that they did or did not contact him but what am I to do if he says something in black and white in the rule book is wrong?
Contact the interpreter / assigner yourself.

Raise it to the state.

Accept that it's the interpretation in your area and use it yourself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Courtesy runner roadking Softball 2 Tue Apr 10, 2012 08:40am
Courtesy runner and 8-10-E RKBUmp Softball 7 Mon Jan 18, 2010 07:15pm
ASA Courtesy Runner Forest Ump Softball 3 Fri May 09, 2008 11:55pm
Pinch runner for a courtesy runner? jwwashburn Softball 17 Wed May 02, 2007 01:43pm
Courtesy runner benbret Softball 12 Thu May 11, 2006 12:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1