![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Umpire called runner safe and the pitch a ball. Should have been a balk and award batter 1B for catcher's obstruction. Last edited by APG; Tue Apr 01, 2014 at 09:49pm. Reason: embed |
|
|||
|
I doubt it. Last years sits were left alone. I think when the runner is safe the NCAA guys leave it alone. Last years calls were argued on another site and since the batter wasn't swinging some big dogs argued against calling CI.
|
|
|||
|
Must be an "old school" thing. Years ago, when I first learned to umpire, I was taught by a Kinnaman School graduate, who said that without contact, you have nothing, so batters were taught to swing (gently, he hoped) and make contact with the catcher.
|
|
|||
|
They're wrong. NCAA interpretation says this is a balk and CI.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Here's the rule. I bolded parts that you can use to call or not call the CI:
"e. If any defensive player interferes with the batter’s swing or prevents the individual from striking at a pitched ball; A.R.—Catcher’s interference on a batter should be called only on the batter’s actual swing to hit the pitch. If a batter, during preliminary loosening-up swings, hits the catcher or the catcher’s mitt during the backswing, the umpire immediately should call time, and not interference. The pitch or swing should not be allowed since the batter’s concentration or rhythm could be affected. (1) If a play follows the interference, the offensive team may elect to ignore the interference and accept the play. However, if the batter reaches first base and all other runners advance at least one base, the interference is ignored. (2) Any runner attempting to steal on a catcher’s interference with the batter’s swing shall be awarded the base the runner is attempting to reach If a runner is not attempting to steal on the catcher’s interference, the individual is not entitled to the next base, if not forced to advance because of the batter being awarded first base. Exception—If there is catcher’s interference on a squeeze play, the batter is awarded first base, the run scores and all other runners advance one base on the balk created by the interference. |
|
|||
|
This NCAA umpire does if he sees it.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A steal of home to tie up a rivalry game in the ninth generates great excitement, and I'll bet you a buck the NCAA facilitators will focus not on the missed call, but will instead reinforce the need for umpires to keep the players on the bench/warning track during live ball action. I like how the ball boy ignored the celebration and just took care of his business of getting the plate umpire's supply replenished. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| steal home - run score? | BEAREF | Baseball | 5 | Mon Jun 10, 2013 09:21pm |
| Dropped Third strike, steal home. | dmore | Softball | 9 | Mon Jun 11, 2012 08:34pm |
| steal of home, strike 3 | newump | Baseball | 6 | Sat Apr 17, 2010 07:49am |
| Who's out on steal home?? | tibear | Baseball | 13 | Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:53pm |
| Steal of Home | U_of_I_Blue | Baseball | 4 | Fri Jun 24, 2005 01:35pm |