![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The pitch couldn't be caught, by rule, so it was treated as a dropped K2. [see OBR 2.00 Definition of A Ball] The B-R was legally entitled to attempt to acquire 1st base. The batter-runner cannot abandon the base path, and isn't considered to have deserted it either, until he reaches the dugout. [see OBR 6.09(b)Comment] The B-R was entitled to turn for 1st and run. Obstruction is any act by the defense without the ball that hinders or impedes the runner's legitimate effort to acquire a base. [see OBR 7.06(a)] The pitcher impeded the B-R in his effort to reach 1st base. Any player, coach, manager who objects to decisions may be disqualified and ejected. [see OBR 9.01(d)]. The pitcher and defensive coach each must have objected to the umpire's decision on the play. There you have it, Bob. Hope this helps. Cheers.
__________________
Warren Willson |
Bookmarks |
|
|