![]() |
|
|
|||
Time of pitch or time of throw?
Can someone help me with a play?
Runners on first and second, nobody out. Ground ball to 3B. The thirdbaseman tags third for the first out and thorws the ball out of play when trying to get the batter at first base. R1 is past second base when the throw is made. Is the award time of pitch or time of throw? If tagging third is considered a play, then I think that it should be time of throw. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
If the throw to first was to put out the batter/runner making a turn to second after touching first, then the award would be from the time of throw. R1 to Home, batter to 3rd.
__________________
"Because you can referee wrong, make a mistake, but what you can not do is create your own sense of justice and, even worse, invent a very personal application of the rules." Dutch legend (soccer coach) Johan Cruyff |
|
|||
Quote:
My explanation above was accurate and correct. I don't know why you have to make things so confusing with this "first play has not ended" comment. That's unnecessary and incorrect. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
I think he's under the impression that the first play is somehow anything that happens before the batter and everyone else advances a base. Nonsensical, but I think that was what he was advocating.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
How? Please enlighten us (or maybe just me) with your knowledge.
__________________
"Because you can referee wrong, make a mistake, but what you can not do is create your own sense of justice and, even worse, invent a very personal application of the rules." Dutch legend (soccer coach) Johan Cruyff |
|
|||
Your assertion that the play wasn't over is blatantly incorrect. The tag of third was the first play and satisfied the "first play" condition. ALL subsequent action is after the first play so any throw out of play is two bases TOT.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
The first play is the FIRST play. First attempt to throw or tag a runner out. "First" has a pretty easy to understand meaning. "First" doesn't mean "all of the things that happen before X and Y happen"... it means first. The most common example of this happening, actually, flies right in the face of the insane interpretation you gave us. R1, Grounder to short, who throws to 2nd for the easy force (this would be the FIRST play). F4 then throws toward first for the double play and sails it into the stand. This would NOT be the first play ... it's the second play. By your "definition", this second play would somehow also be another first play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Tim. |
|
|||
Perhaps he was trying to mean that when a batter-runner reaches or passes first base BEFORE a wild throw is made, then the award is TOT, even if the throw is the first play by an infielder. Of course, this would be true only IF the B-R (and all other runners, if there were any) reached his advance base before the throw was released. This, however, as I stated above, is exceedingly rare.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Time Limit Games JO fast pitch | nsc_wa | Softball | 21 | Mon May 21, 2012 11:45am |
throw in spot after time out | jamartn | Basketball | 5 | Sat Nov 13, 2004 10:09pm |
Time of Pitch | Illini_Ref | Baseball | 2 | Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:25am |
Fed: 2-28-3 Time of Pitch | etbaseball | Baseball | 8 | Tue Jan 29, 2002 01:46pm |
NFHS Rules. Two bases from the time of the Pitch or throw? | Gre144 | Baseball | 1 | Fri Mar 16, 2001 10:13am |