The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 25, 2004, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
I'm not trying to split hairs here, I am just having a hard time unerstanding a rule. NFHS rules.

Pitcher in the windup. Glove hand is in front of his body and the other hand is at his side. He deeps the hands there and steps back with his non pivot foot. He thens stops all together. Infraction or not.

NFHS rules say that the TOP in this situation is any movement with the arm(s) or leg(s) AFTER bringing the hands together. Am I reading this right? If I am then there is no infraction, as he is not committed to the plate until there is movement AFTER his hands are brought together.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 25, 2004, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 508
Balk. One hand and one leg is 'start of normal delivery'. Just the hand, settling into glove is most likely ok, when hand goes to glove and non-pivot goes back (as usual for start of windup), you have a start of delivery........
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 25, 2004, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
NFHS Rule 6.1.2 " After he starts his movement to pitch, he must continue the motion without interruption or alteration". Balk. See penalty under 6.2.4.d, "failing to pitch to the batter in a continous motion immediately after any movement of any part of the body such as he habitually uses in his delivery".
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58pm.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1