The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 13, 2004, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
I know this is a basic question, but could somebody point me to the rule about where the throw in spot is after a time out?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 13, 2004, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by jamartn
I know this is a basic question, but could somebody point me to the rule about where the throw in spot is after a time out?

Where it would have been before the time out.

At the start of the 2nd, 3rd, or 4th quarter...2nd half if it applies...it's at the division line opposite the table under the alternate possession.

Every other throw in (other than after a technical) is at the spot nearest the foul, violation, or location of the ball at the time of the time out request.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 13, 2004, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Thanks!

Do you know where it is specifically mentioned in the NFHS rulebook?

Regards,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 13, 2004, 08:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
In Spotting we are "favoring" going to the baseline.

Anything within the 3 pt arch goes under
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 13, 2004, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy
In Spotting we are "favoring" going to the baseline.

Anything within the 3 pt arch goes under

????? What? The officials manual has a diagram that shows where the ball should be inbounded depending on where a violation or foul (or other dead ball) took place. We don't get to "favor" anything.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 13, 2004, 10:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy
In Spotting we are "favoring" going to the baseline.

Anything within the 3 pt arch goes under
Not true.

The entire lane, including the half circle above the free throw line, goes end line. There is a diagonal line going from the intersection of the lane line and free throw line to the corner, and that also goes to the end line.

Everything else goes to the sides, and that includes several feet of court INSIDE the 3 pt arch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1