The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
3.05C is referring to a substitution of a pitcher that is in the game and has not fulfilled the pitching to a batter rule. This not about substituting for a pitcher that is not yet ofiicially in the game. Which is what happened and is the subject of discussion.

Was the lefty warming up considered officially in the game because he was warming up or announced/indicated as the next pitcher? That is the question here.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
Was the lefty warming up considered officially in the game because he was warming up or announced/indicated as the next pitcher? That is the question here.
That's what I thought 3.08(a)(1) answered. You know a lot more about this than I do, jicecone, so I'm sure I'm wrong; what am I missing here?
__________________
Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Actually I still have some research to do myself. And thats is why I say it is not as clear as it reads.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
The rule you referenced is for an unannounced sub. You don't need that rule for a sub that IS announced.

For those wondering whether he was announced or not, check the box score. He is in there (Wright). He would not have been allowed to pitch later. It's very clear he was announced and substituted for before throwing any pitches (the box even shows him with a 0 pitch count).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Then the rules state that "once the improper pitcher delivers a pitch he becomes the proper pitcher".

It sounds like the umpire is supposed to prevent this however, there is no penalty, and if the coach wants to substitute a new picther , then he becomes legal after the first pitch.

Yes I agree that Wright was not eligibie to return to the game.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
Then the rules state that "once the improper pitcher delivers a pitch he becomes the proper pitcher".
This may apply for when the game isn't protested or the protest becomes moot, but this is no defense for the protest.

Last edited by bluehair; Fri May 10, 2013 at 11:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
Then the rules state that "once the improper pitcher delivers a pitch he becomes the proper pitcher".
All that's saying is that if you don't catch it, and they start pitching, they are no longer improper.

There's no mechanism in the rules to legally and knowingly allow what happened to happen, other than injury - which didn't happen.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Was just reading this on ESPN.com and they said MLB said it was done incorrectly. Wow, 2 big mistakes in two days - so much for all the umpire conferences these days - they don't seem to be producing the correct rulings ..

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2013, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
All that's saying is that if you don't catch it, and they start pitching, they are no longer improper.

There's no mechanism in the rules to legally and knowingly allow what happened to happen, other than injury - which didn't happen.
And besides "the umpire shall direct the proper pitcher to return to the game until the provisions of this rule are fulfilled."(3.05C) and "the umpire shall notify the manager of the offending club that it cannot be done" in (3.05C Comment), what is the penalty for doing it?

None that I can see. Eject the manager, the pitcher that you didn't want to pitch anyway?

That is what I am trying to figure out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SHOULD I PROTEST llcoolredd Basketball 11 Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:15am
Protest ??? kssa Softball 15 Sun Jul 29, 2001 08:10am
Protest Denied -- LL NorCalBlue Baseball 16 Sat Jul 14, 2001 12:05pm
I Protest - Maybe not Steve M Softball 3 Sun Jun 24, 2001 09:01am
Protest? oppool Softball 26 Tue May 01, 2001 08:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1