The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Mar 28, 2003, 02:43am
Official Forum Member

OK, here's my gripe. I'm a coach for recreational league. We were involved in a game yesterday, the game was tied with six seconds left on the clock, it's our ball. We run our play where my guy was obviously foul but no call and the buzzer sounds. As everyone is walking off the court to prepare for overtime, my guy gets called for a technical foul after confronting the ref about the no call. Before overtime starts the other team shoots the tech. The same ref calls the game because now the score is not tied (remember the buzzer had already sounded to end regulation). I was told that I couldn't protest because the ref hadn't left the floor yet so regulation wasn't offically over yet. I know my guy was wrong in talking to the ref, but should the game have been called?
Old Fri Mar 28, 2003, 02:53am
Do not give a damn!!

Lightbulb That all depends.

First of all, none of us know what kind of rules your league is under. All you said is that you coach a recreational league. Depending on the age, you could be under NF or NCAA Rules. It just depends.

Secondly, you are talking about a rec. league. I am sure that your rec. league has some different rules as it relates to protests or any number of situations. So what you need to do is check your administrators. Most of the officials here are National Federation Officials (High School Rules) or NCAA Officials at different levels. So honestly, it is almost impossible to answer any of your questions, unless we know your league specifically, or you give us some information about the rules you are under. Because even if your league uses NF Rules, there is bound to be some modifications and exceptions that apply to your league and your league only.

Peace
Old Fri Mar 28, 2003, 03:16am
Official Forum Member