![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Now you can call it coercion, gentle reminder of who controls the purse string, naivety, gullible or just plain fact. Your choice. |
|
|||
There is no need to determine if there is cheating going on. If the B/R's illegal position made it more difficult for F3 to make the play, I have INT.
Others have opined that they need more harm than that to call the foul. That's fine. It's a judgement thing. |
|
|||
In a game yesterday, in the now SUNNY pacific northwest, I had a b/r run about a foot inside fair territory going to first. F1 fielded the ball, threw a strike to F3 to nail the b/r, who took the throw inside the bag, as coached.
Would you call interference on this?
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
In your situation F3 made the catch. Why would I call INT in that?
|
|
|||
Let me try this a different way (just one more time). In your post you state, "If the B/R's illegal position made it more difficult for F3 to make the play, I have INT."
Did you fail to add, "if F3 cannot make the catch"?
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
Thanks for playing. Had you posted more clearly there would have been no need to keep asking for clarification.
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
If you read carefully (and didn’t jump to conclusions), you probably won’t see anyone claiming that the double clutch was the reason for the interference. The double clutch can’t be the reason for interference because no interference has occurred yet. Without a quality throw (except in Fed), there is nothing yet to be interfered with. PU had a throw F1/F2, a force out at HP...then he has F2 double clutching...why the double clutch?...because B was violating the RL rule. It is not interference yet, but the double clutch might alert an umpire that interference might occur soon. Then F3 drops the throw. In pro ball, you might need the throw to touch B before calling RLI (F3 should make the gloving). In Fed, they had a POE a few years ago that even said a quality throw wasn't required for RLI (any throw would do). If B violated the RL rule and a throw came from HP area, we had RLI (bust the cheating B). I don't do D-1 NCAA ball. Has NCAA opined on whether the throw needs to touch B for interference? The video is not clear, but the throw either did touch B or came very close to doing so. If it's a toss up, I'm screwing the one who was cheating. It might be a tough sell, but I'm not going to not call it because it requires an explanation to OHC. |
|
|||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
![]()
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Running Lane violation | dileonardoja | Baseball | 17 | Thu Jul 12, 2012 04:21pm |
3' running lane violation on BB? | PSUchem | Softball | 51 | Tue Nov 24, 2009 01:20pm |
Running lane violation? | David Emerling | Baseball | 25 | Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:38am |
ASA - running lane violation with a walk | Dakota | Softball | 34 | Thu Sep 25, 2003 09:57am |
running lane violation | Rachel | Softball | 4 | Thu Jul 10, 2003 09:03pm |