The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2013, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Strange Happenings

I have been officiating long enough to understand that there is always something you haven't seen and always something else to learn. Having said that, on Tues I had a Varsity game where the following took place:

Top of 5 with 1 out , no runners, count 1-2.
Next pitch is a waste pitch in the dirt and the batter bites and swings and misses. The ball bounces up in the batter box and is struck by the batters bat on the follow thru. The ball then ends up at the backstop with the batter-runner now headed to first.

Is there a call here or not? I am going to keep checking my books and case plays. I am interested in what others say here, then I will state what I called.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2013, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
Did the ball bounce off the catcher or his glove first?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2013, 11:04am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
There's a rule specifically for this - I don't have the books right here though, but if memory serves it's in or near the section dealing with a bat hitting a ball a second time (maybe not the best place for it, but I believe that's where it is). I believe all you have here is a dead ball strike - I know that's true in several codes.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2013, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by archangel View Post
Did the ball bounce off the catcher or his glove first?
No.

The ball was only hit once, on the follow-thru.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2013, 12:40pm
3rdGennation
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 7
Since the ball didn't hit anything before the batter made contact with it I'll say Foul.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2013, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
NFHS the batter is out 7-5-c, the ball is dead no runners may advance.

NCAA the the ball is dead immediately no runners may advance 6-2-d.

OBR the the ball is dead immediately no runners may advance 6.06(c) comment.
__________________
Tony Carilli

Last edited by tcarilli; Thu Apr 18, 2013 at 01:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2013, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcarilli View Post
NFHS the batter is out 7-5-c, the ball is dead no runners may advance.

NCAA the the ball is dead immediately no runners may advance 6-2-d.

OBR the the ball is dead immediately no runners may advance 6.06(c) comment.
Not sure if your NFHS reference is valid however, I also had the out and killed the play but treated it as interference by the batter. Still not sure if that is totally correct, but still checking.

I haven't researched the other codes yet, will do after my game tonight.

"3rdGennation" It can't be a foul ball because it doesn't meet the criteria of a foul ball. The batter missed the ball on his attemped to hit it, immediatly afterwhich he becomes a batter-runner. That was my initial thought however, I just killed the play and didn't utter those words.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2013, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,011
See 7.3.5F. It doesn't matter whether the ball hit the catcher's glove first or not.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2013, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Thanks Bob. First time I ever saw it happen at a game I was doing.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2013, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
Not sure if your NFHS reference is valid however, I also had the out and killed the play but treated it as interference by the batter. Still not sure if that is totally correct, but still checking.

I haven't researched the other codes yet, will do after my game tonight.

"3rdGennation" It can't be a foul ball because it doesn't meet the criteria of a foul ball. The batter missed the ball on his attemped to hit it, immediatly afterwhich he becomes a batter-runner. That was my initial thought however, I just killed the play and didn't utter those words.
Why would I bother to research and post the rule numbers, if they were not valid? As Bob wrote 7.3.5. Situation F is the case ruling for NFHS. NFHS does not have back swing interference in the same way as OBR and NCAA.
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 19, 2013, 12:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ulster County, NY
Posts: 125
In Fed the batter is responsible for his follow-thru. If it interferes with a catcher's ability in this case to field the ball (or make a throw to a base in the case of a steal), then the batter is out.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 19, 2013, 06:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookie View Post
In Fed the batter is responsible for his follow-thru. If it interferes with a catcher's ability in this case to field the ball (or make a throw to a base in the case of a steal), then the batter is out.
Another rule that FED needs to change. Sometimes the situation calls for an automatic do-over (except for the pitch). An out is too harsh.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 19, 2013, 06:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcarilli View Post
Why would I bother to research and post the rule numbers, if they were not valid? As Bob wrote 7.3.5. Situation F is the case ruling for NFHS. NFHS does not have back swing interference in the same way as OBR and NCAA.
That is totally up to you but, the 2013 NFHS Rule Book and Case Book I have in my possession does not contain "7-5-c". If yours does then your right, it is valid.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 19, 2013, 07:21am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
That is totally up to you but, the 2013 NFHS Rule Book and Case Book I have in my possession does not contain "7-5-c". If yours does then your right, it is valid.
He means 7-3-5c.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 19, 2013, 07:22am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
Another rule that FED needs to change. Sometimes the situation calls for an automatic do-over (except for the pitch). An out is too harsh.
Agreed.

At least in this case the result would be the same since it was strike 3.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now Flake ASA Softball happenings... bd41flpk Softball 21 Fri Nov 26, 2010 02:19pm
Happenings from Girls 8th A game SamIAm Basketball 5 Mon Dec 08, 2008 01:11pm
Strange One bigsig Softball 7 Mon Jul 02, 2007 08:35am
tourney happenings devdog69 Basketball 11 Thu Mar 21, 2002 12:19pm
A Fragrant Foul and other strange happenings. RecRef Basketball 3 Tue Mar 12, 2002 12:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1