![]() |
|
|
|||
NFHS the batter is out 7-5-c, the ball is dead no runners may advance.
NCAA the the ball is dead immediately no runners may advance 6-2-d. OBR the the ball is dead immediately no runners may advance 6.06(c) comment.
__________________
Tony Carilli Last edited by tcarilli; Thu Apr 18, 2013 at 01:24pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I haven't researched the other codes yet, will do after my game tonight. "3rdGennation" It can't be a foul ball because it doesn't meet the criteria of a foul ball. The batter missed the ball on his attemped to hit it, immediatly afterwhich he becomes a batter-runner. That was my initial thought however, I just killed the play and didn't utter those words. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tony Carilli |
|
|||
In Fed the batter is responsible for his follow-thru. If it interferes with a catcher's ability in this case to field the ball (or make a throw to a base in the case of a steal), then the batter is out.
|
|
|||
Another rule that FED needs to change. Sometimes the situation calls for an automatic do-over (except for the pitch). An out is too harsh.
|
|
|||
Quote:
At least in this case the result would be the same since it was strike 3.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
That is totally up to you but, the 2013 NFHS Rule Book and Case Book I have in my possession does not contain "7-5-c". If yours does then your right, it is valid.
|
|
|||
He means 7-3-5c.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Awfully touchy considering you did, in fact, type the wrong rule number. The one you typed is not valid - it doesn't exist. Correcting it here doesn't make your previous mistype valid.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Fair enough. I am sorry for being petulant.
__________________
Tony Carilli |
|
|||
Thanks to the OP for bringing this situation to the board and giving us a chance to rule on it in real time. I also appreciate the other board members researching and bringing forward the specifics from the various rule sets.
I got this wrong with my original instincts. Part of the reason I got it wrong was because I’ve never seen this at any level and I’m having a hard time envisioning how it could happen and the timing of it. Another reason I got it wrong was some old thinking on what constitutes a batters’ swing. I.e. if a catcher could be charged with interference, (agree that it should be changed to Obstruction), for interfering with a batters follow through, is the follow through part of his swing? Ultimately I got this ruling wrong because I don’t know the rules well enough. Thank you all again for helping me to correct that. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Now Flake ASA Softball happenings... | bd41flpk | Softball | 21 | Fri Nov 26, 2010 02:19pm |
Happenings from Girls 8th A game | SamIAm | Basketball | 5 | Mon Dec 08, 2008 01:11pm |
Strange One | bigsig | Softball | 7 | Mon Jul 02, 2007 08:35am |
tourney happenings | devdog69 | Basketball | 11 | Thu Mar 21, 2002 12:19pm |
A Fragrant Foul and other strange happenings. | RecRef | Basketball | 3 | Tue Mar 12, 2002 12:57am |