The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2013, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
I think the original question was will R3 be allowed to score unless there is an appeal at 3B for R3's failure to retouch.

The answer is yes.

An appeal is required.

The umpire cannot just make the call - ever.
Unless it's FED rules and the play is in South (?) Carolina where they still have the old "THe umpire will call an out for baserunning infractions" rule.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2013, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Adding to what Rich said; They could appeal again for a 4th out appeal, that R3 left early. That would remove the run if the appeal were upheld.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2013, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
Adding to what Rich said; They could appeal again for a 4th out appeal, that R3 left early. That would remove the run if the appeal were upheld.
"Again"? They didn't appeal R3 at all.

But yes - they should have additionally appealed R3 to kill the run.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2013, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Rich, they 'appealed' the runner at first leaving early. The implied appeal being the throw back to first after the catch of the line-drive.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2013, 05:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino View Post
Rich, they 'appealed' the runner at first leaving early. The implied appeal being the throw back to first after the catch of the line-drive.
I know that. That's not my issue.

They couldn't/didn't "again" appeal the runner at third because he wasn't appealed in the first place.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2013, 06:33pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
I know that. That's not my issue.

They couldn't/didn't "again" appeal the runner at third because he wasn't appealed in the first place.
Ridiculous quibble, and wrong to boot. Forest wrote, "They could appeal again for a 4th out appeal," not "They could appeal R3 again for a 4th out appeal."

Having already appealed R1, the defense would be appealing again if they also appealed R3 for an advantageous 4th out.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2013, 06:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
I know that. That's not my issue.

They couldn't/didn't "again" appeal the runner at third because he wasn't appealed in the first place.
What are you drinking Rich? They appealed once at 1st and I said they could appeal again , as in a second appeal, at 3rd. Sounds pretty straight forward IMO.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 10, 2013, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
What are you drinking Rich? They appealed once at 1st and I said they could appeal again , as in a second appeal, at 3rd. Sounds pretty straight forward IMO.
We had different English teachers.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
appeals


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I violated rule #1.....not THAT rule #1 Judtech Basketball 148 Mon Jan 31, 2011 09:09am
Rule 6 3O enforcement - 20 second pitch rule wadeintothem Softball 5 Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:33pm
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule TxJim Football 14 Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm
Two "obscure" calls in the same game. Mark Padgett Basketball 7 Wed Jan 17, 2001 03:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1