![]() |
|
|
|||
Forest is correct. When the defense attempts to "double off" a runner, that IS an appeal play. An appeal play is a time play: if the run scores before the out occurs, then it counts.
The rule reference (pro rules) is 4.09.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
If you had posted the OP, I would have added the word 'retouch' to be perfectly correct.
But then, you wouldn't have posted the OP. ![]()
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
I think the original question was will R3 be allowed to score unless there is an appeal at 3B for R3's failure to retouch.
The answer is yes. An appeal is required. The umpire cannot just make the call - ever.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Unless it's FED rules and the play is in South (?) Carolina where they still have the old "THe umpire will call an out for baserunning infractions" rule.
|
|
|||
Adding to what Rich said; They could appeal again for a 4th out appeal, that R3 left early. That would remove the run if the appeal were upheld.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that." |
|
|||
Quote:
But yes - they should have additionally appealed R3 to kill the run.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Tags |
appeals |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
I violated rule #1.....not THAT rule #1 | Judtech | Basketball | 148 | Mon Jan 31, 2011 09:09am |
Rule 6 3O enforcement - 20 second pitch rule | wadeintothem | Softball | 5 | Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:33pm |
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule | TxJim | Football | 14 | Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm |
Two "obscure" calls in the same game. | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 7 | Wed Jan 17, 2001 03:07pm |