The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post
I wonder if the professionals read these kinds of forums.
Rita
I think the odds are slim. Would you frequent a board or consider it very very credible, when, more often than not, you and your partners are criticized as much when you are right as when you are not?

Do you remember the treatment Rob Drake got here when he posted?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Look at 0:24. U1 is asked a question and responds with the word, "force" - guess he has forgotten too.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 07:23pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
The umpires got it correct: no run scores. It's not a force play, and "continuing action" is irrelevant.

The BR acquired 1B when he passed it, but acquiring it is not sufficient to score the run. He must touch it.

4.09a:
One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first,
second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a
play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first
base
; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is
declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2012, 03:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 323
Send a message via AIM to aceholleran
In a semi-similar sitch, I was coaching (yes, I moved to the dark side for two years--eons ago) and won a protest on touch of 1B.

You'll get this, but the umps and scorer that day didn't.

R2, 2 outs (my kids are in the field). B1 hits a gapper. R2 scores, B1 ends upon 2B. But I had a suspicion that B1 MAY have missed first. I induce my F3 to properly appeal at 1B, where U1 calls "out."

As my team gets ready to bat, I see that scoreboard has added R2's run. I calmly walked out to the dish, where scorer confirms the run.

I announce to PU that I am lodging a protest (this is LL, where such unpleasantness must be solved before the next pitch). PU blew up at me. I remained calm. It took umpteen phone calls, but the run was wiped. Of course, we lost the game.

Ace in PA
__________________
There is no such thing as idiot-proof, only idiot-resistant.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2012, 07:06am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by aceholleran View Post
It took umpteen phone calls, but the run was wiped. Of course, we lost the game.

Ace in PA
At least you won the battle.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1