The umpires got it correct: no run scores. It's not a force play, and "continuing action" is irrelevant.
The BR acquired 1B when he passed it, but acquiring it is not sufficient to score the run. He must touch it.
4.09a:
One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first,
second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a
play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first
base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is
declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
|