The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 07:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Thumbs down Wow, WoW, WOW!

Baseball Video Highlights & Clips | MIL@MIA: Marlins broadcast explains odd scoring play - Video | MLB.com: Multimedia
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 07:43pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Embed is your friend:

__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2012, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Which is more surprising; Emmel not immediately realizing this was a force play, or the announcers thinking it was a tag play.........

Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 12:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56 View Post
Which is more surprising; Emmel not immediately realizing this was a force play, or the announcers thinking it was a tag play.........

Tim.
Technically, it's not a "force play" at first. It's a missed base appeal. And my understanding is that if the B/R does not successfully acquire 1B as the third out, no run scores. Basically, the B/R must occupy 1B or any runners advancing on the play do not score.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 12:37am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,981
Did they end up scoring the run or wiping it?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 06:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
No run.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSUmp16 View Post
Technically, it's not a "force play" at first. It's a missed base appeal. And my understanding is that if the B/R does not successfully acquire 1B as the third out, no run scores. Basically, the B/R must occupy 1B or any runners advancing on the play do not score.
Exactly continuing action at first still treated as appeal of missed base, therefore no run should be scored.

There is no such thing as a force play at first base. There is no such thing as a force play at first base. There is no such thing as a force play at first base.There is no such thing as a force play at first base.

There is no such thing as a force play at first base.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Embed is your friend:
The embedded videos are too small and don't allow me to watch it "full screen." For this video, it's probably alright. But, when I'm looking for details on close plays, I prefer the original links over the embedded video.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
The embedded videos are too small and don't allow me to watch it "full screen." For this video, it's probably alright. But, when I'm looking for details on close plays, I prefer the original links over the embedded video.
Click on it after it starts playing. It will come up at the original site.

At least it did for me.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
I wonder if the professionals read these kinds of forums. I'm not saying that we know more than they do. It's just that all kinds of screwy situations happen out there in our games that are rare in theirs. If they read about them, they might be more ready to rule confidently when something screwy happens in their games.

I don't know how often I've been prepared when something odd came up that I had already read about.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post
I wonder if the professionals read these kinds of forums.
Rita
I think the odds are slim. Would you frequent a board or consider it very very credible, when, more often than not, you and your partners are criticized as much when you are right as when you are not?

Do you remember the treatment Rob Drake got here when he posted?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 03:57pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Look at 0:24. U1 is asked a question and responds with the word, "force" - guess he has forgotten too.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 07:23pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
The umpires got it correct: no run scores. It's not a force play, and "continuing action" is irrelevant.

The BR acquired 1B when he passed it, but acquiring it is not sufficient to score the run. He must touch it.

4.09a:
One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first,
second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a
play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first
base
; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is
declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 10:38pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Embed is your friend:
I agree!!
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 11:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Embed is your friend:

Not every device allows you to embed a video. My cell phone does not. Sorry to inconvenience you, causing you to have to spend so much time clicking an external link. I'm sure it was difficult for you and took a lot of extra time with having to move your mouse and click at the same time.

Next time feel free to ignore the link.
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1