The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2012, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,117
NFHS: ball hits bat that is not held by batter?

Trying to find this in the NFHS book.

I am looking for the rule that covers a bat dropped(in foul or fair territory) and then touched by a ball.

8.4.1d just covers the bat that he still holds, right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2012, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,159
Ball hit bat. Foul ball. Ball hit an object foreign to the natural ground while over foul territory.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Fri Jul 27, 2012 at 06:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2012, 02:48pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Ball hit bat. Foul ball. Ball hit an object foreign to the nauural ground while over foul territory.
A) he's looking for the rule number.
B) he asked about both fair and foul - your answer only applies to half.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2012, 03:26pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
8.4.1d just covers the bat that he still holds, right?
8.4.1d does not mention that the bat is still in the batter's hands. That's only mentioned under 8.4.1.d2.

So as I understand the rule, if the batter drops the bat after hitting the ball and takes off for first base, 8.4.1d tells us that unless there's intent to contact the ball a second time, it's either Live (if fair) or Foul.

Unfortunately, the two casebook plays for 8.4.1d both involve the bat still being in the batter's hand. There is no casebook play for when the batter releases the bat.

In OBR, it's simple: If the bat moves towards and contacts the ball, it's considered interference, regardless of intent. If the ball, however, moves towards the bat and contacts it, it's nothing.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2012, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,117
Well, it does not say it is still in his hands in 8.4.1d but, I think that it implies(infers?) that.

I had one a few weeks ago in a softball tournament using NFHS rules and realized I was not sure on the NFHS baseball rule(mostly do games with OBR)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batted Ball hits held bat Eastshire Baseball 11 Thu Jun 28, 2007 07:59am
Ball hits plate, then batter njdevs00cup Baseball 4 Sat May 12, 2007 08:16pm
ball hits batter cards2323 Baseball 2 Tue May 10, 2005 10:48am
Batter hits ball twice while in box chuck chopper Softball 2 Thu Apr 29, 2004 09:40pm
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1