View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2012, 03:26pm
Manny A Manny A is offline
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
8.4.1d just covers the bat that he still holds, right?
8.4.1d does not mention that the bat is still in the batter's hands. That's only mentioned under 8.4.1.d2.

So as I understand the rule, if the batter drops the bat after hitting the ball and takes off for first base, 8.4.1d tells us that unless there's intent to contact the ball a second time, it's either Live (if fair) or Foul.

Unfortunately, the two casebook plays for 8.4.1d both involve the bat still being in the batter's hand. There is no casebook play for when the batter releases the bat.

In OBR, it's simple: If the bat moves towards and contacts the ball, it's considered interference, regardless of intent. If the ball, however, moves towards the bat and contacts it, it's nothing.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote