![]() |
|
|
|||
8.4.1d does not mention that the bat is still in the batter's hands. That's only mentioned under 8.4.1.d2.
So as I understand the rule, if the batter drops the bat after hitting the ball and takes off for first base, 8.4.1d tells us that unless there's intent to contact the ball a second time, it's either Live (if fair) or Foul. Unfortunately, the two casebook plays for 8.4.1d both involve the bat still being in the batter's hand. There is no casebook play for when the batter releases the bat. In OBR, it's simple: If the bat moves towards and contacts the ball, it's considered interference, regardless of intent. If the ball, however, moves towards the bat and contacts it, it's nothing.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Well, it does not say it is still in his hands in 8.4.1d but, I think that it implies(infers?) that.
I had one a few weeks ago in a softball tournament using NFHS rules and realized I was not sure on the NFHS baseball rule(mostly do games with OBR) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batted Ball hits held bat | Eastshire | Baseball | 11 | Thu Jun 28, 2007 07:59am |
Ball hits plate, then batter | njdevs00cup | Baseball | 4 | Sat May 12, 2007 08:16pm |
ball hits batter | cards2323 | Baseball | 2 | Tue May 10, 2005 10:48am |
Batter hits ball twice while in box | chuck chopper | Softball | 2 | Thu Apr 29, 2004 09:40pm |
batter hits ball after hits ground | kfinucan | Softball | 13 | Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm |